SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#1891 - 02/12/02 08:24 AM A beginners question, help please
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hey all, I'm brand new to the whole synth thing and just have a few questions.

I'm trying to decide between getting a synth or a guitar and drum machine. I don't know anyone else who plays anything. I love both guitar driven (smashing pumpkins, oasis) and beat, synth driven (depeche) music. My personal favorite group however is Garbage.

My question is can a synth do guitars well? Overall I guess I would want some thing that can be used to make whole songs, from the drums to the keys (give or take vocals)

Am I better off buying one station, or different parts? If anyone could give me some suggestions on what to get it would be great. btw I want to spend around $500 give or take $300.

Thank you.

#1892 - 02/12/02 11:32 AM Re: A beginners question, help please
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
Guitars are STILL just about the hardest instrument to emulate on a keyboard. We're getting closer than ever before, but there is so much variation in the playing style with harmonics, bends, slides, and pull offs that it's really a tough job. Sax is another hard one to really play with "soul". We have the sounds, but the technique is so hard to copy. Play what you do best, and get toys for the rest.

#1893 - 02/12/02 11:53 AM Re: A beginners question, help please
tekminus Offline

Yeah, the worst you could do is getting a synth and try to do guitar or acoustic type stuff. It's nowhere near believable or realistic, unless you sample whole parts and compose out of that.

-tek

#1894 - 02/12/02 02:19 PM Re: A beginners question, help please
kaboombahchuck Offline

Loc: Arizona USA
Why not go with a midi guitar setup, like the roland ready? You would then have both worlds. I have heard some midi guitar songs and was impressed, except for the sax sounds.

#1895 - 02/12/02 10:56 PM Re: A beginners question, help please