SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#184972 - 10/09/03 10:17 AM This may be helpful to pros.
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
I have a weekly job playing at a nice supper club, always one night a week and occasionally more.
I made table-tent cards with the name of the place and my name on one side, and a place to write requests and dedications on the other. When I set up, I place one on each table. Since I started using them there, my tips have more than doubled on the average.
It's a trick I've been using for many years from time to time. I use MS Publisher to make the cards, but MS Word or any card program will work. I have a paper cutter to trim them. One fold and they are ready.
I'd be happy to share the design with anyone who is interested.
DonM

[This message has been edited by DonM (edited 10-09-2003).]

#184973 - 10/09/03 12:12 PM Re: This may be helpful to pros.
travlin'easy Offline

Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
Neat Idea Don. Unfortunately, when I'm playing at the local "Blood & Guts Saloon" (American Legion) up here in the frozen north, the only tips a performer gets is on horses to bet on at the track. I'm playing their next weekend and I'll give it a try.

Thanks,

Gary

K+E=W (Knowledge Plus Experience = Wisdom.)

#184974 - 10/09/03 12:22 PM Re: This may be helpful to pros.
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Gary, take a tip jar, and print a sign to tape on it: "Beer For My Horses Fund".
DonM

#184975 - 10/09/03 01:01 PM Re: This may be helpful to pros.
Tom Cavanaugh Offline

Loc: Muskegon, MI
Gary,

Maryland is hardly the frozen north. Come visit Michigan in the winter sometime. Great sound on "Answer Me My Love" heard on Don's website.

Tom

Tom

#184976 - 10/09/03 04:13 PM Re: This may be helpful to pros.
travlin'easy Offline