SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#18372 - 08/13/99 05:22 PM Strummers & Loopers
Kenny James Offline

Loc: Paris, TN / USA
Hey, Guys;

I have a Korg is50 Workstation. Would like to able to create guitar rhythm strums, finger picking patterns and loops to be used when creating music from scratch. I can do it on the is50 but it takes forever. I'm mostly into Country and Western music styles so the groove boxes and dance machines are a bit over kill.

Does anyone have any experience with the Oberheim Strummer or Cyclone? What about the Echoplex Pro? I'm new to this electronic music making scene and don't know enough about what is out there to know what to buy? I'm just basically wanting to create patterns and riffs, and be able to loop them for as long as I need and to insert them into the song any place I want them. Something with some factory presets would be nice, but not necessary.

If anyone can help I will appreciate it.

Thanks.

Kenny James

#18373 - 08/14/99 09:32 PM Re: Strummers & Loopers
buinu Offline

Loc: Atlanta, GA USA
To me, this is much more difficult than programming drums. I have not used or ever talked directly with anyone who has used the Strummer but it seems as if I remember it as having less than favorable reviews. The Cyclone is an arpeggiator which has had mixed reviews and although it may be useful to you, I don't think it's what you are looking for at the moment, at least not far sequencing individual licks. When this type of effect has been absolutely necessary, I have always had the best results either from programming multi layers while inserting a slight delay between layers (really a pain but the whole lick gets played on one key) or from using step entry which is also a pain but not as big of one. Programming with delay has always worked best for me though. I hope others will offers more options, other than sampling or using a live guitarist.

#18374 - 08/16/99 12:24 PM Re: Strummers & Loopers