SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#183146 - 02/28/01 06:48 PM The Pro!!!
Timor sakka Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/28/01
Posts: 16
Loc: Sweden
Hi all I,m New at this forum.I just wanna thank you guys out there four all support you helpin whit & i just cant forget to say big thanx to Chris.He helped me a lot of time.I,m living in Sweden(but i looove Danmark Kopenhagen!!!)I heave a 9000pro, a va 7 & I ordered a Gem WK 8.No i,m not a millioner!!!Just a player.I just play & making my living only on my music.
Today the music store i work in head a demo of 9000pro.Yes it is a great board.I agree!!!
Some smal, but important thing,s is missing.
Stereo sampling, flash mem to samplings, better style & woice edit func,s sample edit & maybe a Akai&roland sampe cd, roms reading func,s could be a plus.anyway i love the sound quality & styles.I play Turkish pop music & oriental & folk dance music.There not so much things obout my kind off stuff.(Or is there???!!!)
Roland Va7 god soundin but heavy to job whit.Its hard 2 find a easy way 2 know the board.Not so god on live perf.I like it anyway as complement.(Do i need that when i heave 9000pro???)tyeeeaaa Mmmmm!!!???.
X1, god sounding styles!!!Not ergonomic, no easy func,s bad piano & other sound,s.No, not 4 me.Maybe sd1.But my best friend heave one X1 so i can try in his home some times.
Just wanna 2 tell you guys out there.We can build the bes machine ewer if we can hold forums like this.(Yamaha has ben here 2 you know)!!!So keep going!Thank you all & C you.
By the way sory my English.
Thank you Kayee, Dan, Marten & all!!!
_________________________
Timor

Top
#183147 - 02/28/01 08:28 PM Re: The Pro!!!
George Kaye Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/24/99
Posts: 3295
Loc: Reseda, California USA
Hi Timor,
We all benefit from this arranger forum. When you get a chance to hear the new Solton SD1 I think you will be real happy with the new Piano sound. It sounds almost exactly the same as the 9000pro except the bottom end is a little fuller. The mids, and highs are almost exactly the same. It sounds to me like you have some really fine keyboards. I think this forum is growing larger every day. Tell your friends! I do!
Regards,
George Kaye
From Sunny California, USA ( except it's been raining all week!)
_________________________
George Kaye
Kaye's Music Scene
Reseda, California
818-881-5566
www.kayesmusicscene.com

Top
#183148 - 03/01/01 03:34 AM Re: The Pro!!!
Clif Anderson Offline
Member

Registered: 02/17/00
Posts: 532
Hi Timor

Visit www.egroups.com/group/MIDI-Style-Atlas for some MidEastern styles compatible with your keyboard (as well as others).

Clif

Top
#183149 - 03/01/01 11:53 AM Re: The Pro!!!
Timor sakka Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/28/01
Posts: 16
Loc: Sweden
Hello Kayee & Thanx four your replay.
Yes I,m a heapy K-player because i heave olmost all brand,s.
But what i realy mis in 9000pro is that it can,t load cd,rom from Akai & kurzweil.
Stupid or what???
Same keyboard as V7 same soun generator as psr9000 olmoust same styles why not a new func, like load other sound,s from cd rom player.
I wonder if we in the future can do it whit a upgrade.Like 3.0!!!Bla Bla.???
Any way how is Sd 1???
I ordered a WK 8 onyl because of i need sample sounds four arabic & Turkish music.
I think i can say that i,m a Pro my self in samples .Espacialy in Strings & pads & Percussion sounds from MidleEast.I made a custom voice to my 9000pro that i sampled all sound,s from a cd from Turkey, Korg, solton, other samle cd,s & VA7.
I think it is the best oriental kit made ever.
I olso mapped them like korg & solton to play styles correct directliy after converting from EMC_Sworks & just change track 9, 10 from Yamaha to custom voices.(Smart or???)Thanx!!!
Again my qestions Do you think i need to calcel my order (WK8) & order a SD1 istead???
Gearge i can send you my sampled sounds i think you gonna love them.Because i did this in a loooooooong time.& also because i will help other K-Players.Okey dear friend Thanx & take cafe of you & again Sory my English.
Beye to all of you 4 Now only!!!
_________________________
Timor

Top
#183150 - 03/01/01 12:01 PM Re: The Pro!!!
Timor sakka Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/28/01
Posts: 16
Loc: Sweden
Tanx Clif.
I heave the files from the scratch because I made many of them 2 my old G 1000.
But it,s not so easy & not so god sounding on Yamaha.
I heard yesterday From Yamaha Sweden that Rolaqnd & yamaha going togrther soon in a new General project like New GM,GS,XG.That will be nice i think.
Bye C you.& Tnx again.
_________________________
Timor

Top
#183151 - 03/01/01 02:41 PM Re: The Pro!!!
Clif Anderson Offline
Member

Registered: 02/17/00
Posts: 532
Hi Timor

I agree with you that a big shortcoming of the 9000Pro is the inability to load commercially available samples. Actually, you can load them after conversion to .wav format, but I do not think you can preserve the program information such as loop points. I believe all arrangers that accept samples share this weakness, with the exception of the General Music SK series. You would think Yamaha arrangers would accept A-series samples, but also no.

Clif

Top
#183152 - 03/01/01 03:44 PM Re: The Pro!!!
Timor sakka Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/28/01
Posts: 16
Loc: Sweden
Hi Clif.
I tink the new Sd 1 can import samples & Akai ,kurzweil ,Roland format to.
The problem is yamaha is god on .wav but not on findin sample loops etc.
I heard from a friend (Specialist on KB,s) that the new SD 1 can load all files including loop points.
?????????????????????????????????????????????
Do you think Yamaha can update the vers. to handle whit CD, rom players to load sound & sapmle data transfer & storage.
Bye .!!!
Timor
_________________________
Timor

Top
#183153 - 03/01/01 07:17 PM Re: The Pro!!!
Clif Anderson Offline
Member

Registered: 02/17/00
Posts: 532
Hi Timor

Your friend might be right about the SD1, since the guys that developed the SK series left General Music and went to Solton (so I heard). If the SD1 can load Roland and Akai samples (as does my XV-5080), that would be great for me.

I do not think Yamaha will add the ability to load commercial samples to the 9000 pro. They want the 9000Pro owners to sell them to get the 10000Pro (or whatever), and maybe they will add commercial sample playback to achieve that end. On the other hand, I doubt Yamaha is very worried about their competition--the 9000Pro is like a Lexus in a sea of Corollas.

Clif

[This message has been edited by Clif Anderson (edited 03-01-2001).]

Top
#183154 - 03/01/01 08:43 PM Re: The Pro!!!
DanO1 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/01
Posts: 3602
Loc: Maryland
"YES" the SD1 can syncipate samples to midi sequences and Styles . It is very cool . It is sort of a variphraser and RECYCLE software in one keyboard. The other thing about the Sd1 are the vocal drum kits .
It should be out soon ........Dan O from
Guitar CEnter Towson Md. oneils4@home.com
_________________________
dansmusicgear@aol.com
https://www.reverbnation.com/danoneil?profile_view_source=profile_box

Top

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online