SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#183134 - 11/27/02 10:41 PM Re: Performances
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
Here's where my training as a bassist come in handy. When you listen to a song .... try to find (and follow) the BASS part. It is very often the root of the chord.
eg: a "G" note in the bass will probably be a G chord. You can tell major or minor after you get the right root !
Play along till your bass note matches the song, then try a full chord .... and see if it's major or minor. The fancy stuff comes later !

#183135 - 11/28/02 07:30 AM Re: Performances
siahwayne Offline

Loc: singapore
Hi,I am a Singaporean chinese who loves2 play keyboard. I stopped buying music books after I studied modern harmony( music theory).Now I am able to "catch" what chord are being used in a song, although not 100 % accurate. if you understand chord theory or know the chord family, then it wound not be difficult to figure out the chord.A song in Cmajor usually uses all the chords found in Cmajor family, the C major chord family is C,Dm,Em,F,G,Am,Bdim.(Bdim is rarely used)and many modern songs also use E7,D7,A7.It the same for all other chord family,just remember--1major,2minor,3minor,4major,5major(perfect 5th),6minor,7diminished.Of course the chord being used may be played with a different bass note(eg.C on G,G on B etc) so practice more!Please 4give me if I gave a wrong info.

[This message has been edited by siahwayne (edited 11-28-2002).]

#183136 - 11/28/02 08:07 AM Re: Performances
svpworld Offline

Loc: UK