SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#179311 - 01/17/04 11:13 AM Re: Is Operating the KB Becoming Harder than Playing It?
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
At 60 years of age, everything related to technology that I learned in high school or college is obsolete.

My degree is in Journalism and Advertising. I remember learning how Linotype machines worked. There were no home computers. Ad layouts were done by hand with clip art from large books. Photography was done with a real camera and I learned to develop and print balck and white photos in the darkroom. Color darkrooms were too expensive to consider.

I did have an electric typewriter, but they were still quite expensive. I learned in high school on a manual.

My first "keyboard", in 1965, other than a piano at home was a Lowery organ. All it did was play organ sounds. In order to amplify it we wired an output to an external amp. It weighed a ton, and really didn't even have a good organ sound!

Now, like many of the others here, I can assemble a computer from parts, build and maintain my own website, make a digital photo, edit it, print it, or send it to anyplace in the world in minutes.

I can create my own CD, complete with cover and insert, for literally pennies.

The list could go on and on, but you get the picture. And I am far from unique, and far from the most accomplished "techie", even here on our own little forum.

As Gary so eloquently said, we must embrace the technology or be left in the backwash of those who do.

Make those keyboards as complicated as you want. I'll figure 'em out where others may not make the effort. Edge to me. Still, they must be easy to operate once you DO figure them out.

DonM www.donmasonmusic.com

#179312 - 01/17/04 11:44 AM Re: Is Operating the KB Becoming Harder than Playing It?
btweengigs Offline

Loc: Florida, USA