SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#172468 - 05/01/05 07:30 PM Synth To Laptop ...
hauschild Offline

Loc: lisle,il,usa
Guys,

I recently purchased a Motif ES7. I am a newbie and would like to know the most practical method for me to be able to get sound on my laptop.

I've got a Dell Inspirion 9100, 3ghz, 1 gig ram, Intel 865 chipset.

On this computer I've installed Sonar 4. When Sonar loads, it displays a message stating no acceptable sound device found. I am guessing the cheesy SigmaTel Audio soundcard that came installed on my laptop isn't cutting the mustard.

What is the most efficient method for me to hit the ground running, being able to lay down some tracks? Down the road, I will want to add vocals and guitar to the tracks, as well as the synth.

Would the best solution be an external soundcard or an audio interface? What about the mLAN16 expansion board.

What I know is that I can't get any sound when I open up sample files in Sonar4. I need you guys to give me some recommendations.

Thanks!

#172469 - 05/02/05 05:43 AM Re: Synth To Laptop ...
cassp Offline

Loc: Motown
You can get GM midi sounds from your Inspiron sound card if you are using the "GS Wavetable Synth" as your midi sound source. You can also load softsynths and/or soundfonts. The easiest would be the Roland VSC3 or the Yamaha SYX-G50. Your Motif sounds can be recorded into your LT thru any audio recording program - Cakewalk, Sonar, Sound Forge, etc. They will be actual audio, not midi. And, if I'm not mistaken, Sonar4 has its own sound engine.

[This message has been edited by cassp (edited 05-02-2005).]

#172470 - 05/02/05 06:21 AM Re: Synth To Laptop ...
Bluezplayer Offline

Loc: Catskill Mountains, NY
You're right. Sonar 4 probably won't work with your internal soundcard, in it's present state. You'll need something a little better, with better drivers, but.. you can probably use your internal card for now.