SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#162429 - 02/20/06 05:36 AM HELP with first pa?
homewurx Offline

I know it must be boring to all yoou tech guys but... I am a classical guitarist my wife plays a wind synthesizer. I need ( I think ) about 200watt speakers - we play banquet halls which are not very deep but wide. maybe maximum 300 people.What is meant by horizontal dispersion? Is that what I need for wide rooms? oh the budget is about 2k...I need things simple so I have been looking at powered speakers and I would like a mixer with EFFECTS for the guitar. ( SRM350/dfx6 or fbt maxx2a/dfx6?) weight is important. Do I just need two speakers and a mixer? Are powered speakers compatible with most mixers regardless of brand? any recommendations on systems or where to buy would be appreciated

#162430 - 02/20/06 05:54 AM Re: HELP with first pa?
travlin'easy Offline

Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
There are lots of high-quality, powered speakers available in today's market. Barbetta, Mackie, JBL, lots of them, and they're all in the same, general, price range. Each has it's own features, and because this is a very subjective issue, it's difficult to recommend one over the other.

Much of your decission will depend upon the physical characteristics of the venues where you wish to perform. The position and height of the stage, how and where the audience is seated, room accustics, and ceiling height will all have bearings on speaker size, speaker placement, wattage, and EQ settings. All of this primarily applies to conventional sound systems. It does not have much of a bearing on the Bose PAS, which uses unconventional technology to equally distribute sounds throughout the venue.

As for the price range, a pair of Barbetta Sona 32-Cs will run about $1,200 to $1,300. The Bose PAS is $1995 direct from Bose.