SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 7 of 11 < 1 2 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 >
Topic Options
#159774 - 03/30/07 01:09 AM Re: o/t AMERICAN IDOL ARE YOU READY...again?
renig Offline

Loc: Canada
Probably because of the nature of the beast.

Pop music has always been about style and fluff, or at least a major component of it has. That's not to say that there aren't any talented people in the biz, but it is, after all, a music that doesn't demand close attention to enjoy it. With classical music, it comes down to talent and ability alone, in addition to many years of ongoing study. I don't know that there are too many classical artists who are completely self-taught, as is the case with a fairly large proportion of pop artists.

#159775 - 03/30/07 01:32 AM Re: o/t AMERICAN IDOL ARE YOU READY...again?
Taike Offline

Loc: Xingyi, Guizhou (China)
I agree, Rening, but isn't it a pity knowing that we miss out on the real talented ones? What have looks to do with music? Basically what's being sold is an image and, believe me, they sure work hard and spend huge amounts of money, to keep that image intact, whether it'd be a role model or bad boy/girl image. I simply refuse to buy it and let my ears and not my eyes make the decision.

#159776 - 03/30/07 03:05 AM Re: o/t AMERICAN IDOL ARE YOU READY...again?
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
American Idol is NOT a talent competition. It's a scripted, made-up, glitzy attempt to force the next new, sellable, hot thing down the throats of the music buying public. It's not about the breatest talet. it's about WHAT THEY CAN SELL. period.

Sure, some of the finalists have talent. Trillions of people all over the world have talent, and we'll never see it. Pop stars are "MADE" in Hollywood and "sold" till they go out of style. It's not about talent.