SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#154331 - 08/30/06 07:27 AM How I crossed the bridge from keyboard to laptop
Heinrich Offline

Hi folks,

You helped me a lot with your answers on this forum, maybe I can give something back to you:

Bear in mind that a) I am a guitarist, my kb skills are bad b) I am talking about song composing rather than Live arrarnger gigging as most of you will surely do c) my English is a little limited.

I came from the midjay/psr and the motif es6 side and wanted to speed up things and make them simpler (beware the mo!). hat is more I wanted a system that weighs a lot less than pa1x I had the pleasure to lug around…

I sold all my gear (motif, midjay, dr 880 etc.) in favour of a new tiny laptop (acer travelmate 12” monitor 1200 x 800, 1,73 ghz mobile pentium centrino) which would serve as my portable “studio”. Anyone going this route should be prepared to accept that computer gear will always lose its value a lot – and I mean a lot! – faster than any music hardware will. Along with that goes an external usb-powered edirol soundcard (Midi and i/o) and very small portable usb-powered external logitech speakers – the only ones I found that can deliver something called sound.

I demoed a lot of stuff with different combinations on different laptops form fellow musicians:

Vst Hosts/sequencers: tracktion 2, phrazor, energyxt, plogue bidule, cakewalk project5, the seq. of pg music etc.

Virtual synths/romplers: hypersonic 2, bandstand, ezdrummer, groove agent, plugsound etc.

Midi creation: BIAB, omb, live-styler

Midi creation guitar to midi: guitarsynth and a few others which are all simply unusable

Virtual guitar amps: tubeamp, guitar rig, rock amp legends, guitarsuite (freeware)

Asios: steinbergs asios, edirol, asio4all

Virual midicables: midiyoke, maple midi

Controller: any 3 ocatve KB will do ;-) for a guitarist.

My findings: