SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#152309 - 04/15/03 07:33 AM Tyros
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4187
Well, I just purchased a Tyros from eBay - quick purchase - great price. Now I have a couple of questions:
1. Can I hook up my stereo Bose system for speakers? I sure hope so. I can't afford the getup that goes with the Tyros.
2. Where can I get my hands on Korg/Roland styles that will work in the unit.
3. I have an old cd of different styles from the psr9000 (from Vince). Will these automatically work in the Tyros?
4. Any great/informative sites for the Tyros?
Oh my God...I can't believe what I've done!!!!!!!!
Zuki
_________________________


Top
#152310 - 04/15/03 07:48 AM Re: Tyros
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 15627
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Congratulations! You'll love it.
One bit of advice--it seems everyone who gets a new keyboard immediately starts trying to make it sound like their old one.
Before you load old style into it, give the new ones onboard a real tryout.
Enjoy.
DonM
_________________________
DonM

Top
#152311 - 04/15/03 08:28 AM Re: Tyros
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4187
Don,
Great advice. Thanks.
Zuki
_________________________


Top
#152312 - 04/15/03 09:43 AM Re: Tyros
kbrkr Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/19/02
Posts: 2816
Loc: Tampa, FL
Zuki,

Congratulations and welcome to the Tyros club!!! Don't worry it's only money.

The Tyros requires POWERED speakers to work effectively so if your Bose system is self powered with a powered sub-woofer, it may work. Terry and Scotty have done a lot of homework in this area so I'd pose the question to them. I use the Yammy speakers for at home and I use a stereo amp on the road.

I believe someone has converted the Roland and Korg styles to the Yammy format, but not necessarily to the Tyros. That's an extra step since you need to map the track voices to the Tyros hybrid voices. There are a few software programs out in freeware that will re-map voices for you. Michael Bedseem publishes a great program to do that. Check out the Svpworld forums for a wealth of Tyros and PSR related information.

The 9000 styles will work fine in the Tyros, but as I mentioned above, you will need to remap to the Tyros Hybrid voices in some cases.

Best of Luck!!
Al
_________________________
Al


Top
#152313 - 04/15/03 10:37 AM Re: Tyros
DanO1 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/01
Posts: 3602
Loc: Maryland
Quote:
Originally posted by DonM:
Congratulations! You'll love it.
One bit of advice--it seems everyone who gets a new keyboard immediately starts trying to make it sound like their old one.
Before you load old style into it, give the new ones onboard a real tryout.
Enjoy.
DonM



Hi Don ,


This is a wonderful statement . Makes me laugh a little . Dano
_________________________
dansmusicgear@aol.com
https://www.reverbnation.com/danoneil?profile_view_source=profile_box

Top
#152314 - 04/15/03 11:50 AM Re: Tyros
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4187
Hey Dano -
Got any converted SD styles for the Tyros?
Thanks,
Zuki
_________________________


Top
#152315 - 04/15/03 05:18 PM Re: Tyros
Tom Cavanaugh Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/06/99
Posts: 2111
Loc: Muskegon, MI
Don, I didn't try to make my X1 sound like my PS6100.

Tom
_________________________
Thanks,

Tom

Top
#152316 - 04/15/03 06:24 PM Re: Tyros
trtjazz Offline
Member

Registered: 08/01/02
Posts: 2683
Zuki,
Here's some of the info/research I did on the speaker options. http://www.synthzone.com/ubbs/Forum37/HTML/005980.html

As far as styles including from Korg and Ketron boards.... join the psr group for access to hundreds of styles. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/yamaha-psr-styles/

------------------
jam on,
Terry http://imjazzed.homestead.com/Index.html
_________________________
jam on,
Terry
http://www.artisans-world.com/

Top
#152317 - 04/15/03 06:25 PM Re: Tyros
DanO1 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/01
Posts: 3602
Loc: Maryland
Quote:
Originally posted by zuki:
Hey Dano -
Got any converted SD styles for the Tyros?
Thanks,
Zuki


Ahhhh those Sd1 styles wouldn't sound the same on a Tyro's . No .wav sync with Tyro's .

BTW.......I have some really great new SD1 styles . Totally kicks butt ! Dan
_________________________
dansmusicgear@aol.com
https://www.reverbnation.com/danoneil?profile_view_source=profile_box

Top
#152318 - 04/15/03 07:10 PM Re: Tyros
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4187
Hey Terry,
Thanks for the useful information.
Regards,
Zuki
_________________________


Top
#152319 - 04/15/03 07:19 PM Re: Tyros
travlin'easy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/08/02
Posts: 14302
Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
Zuki,
What genre of Roland and Korg styles are you looking for? I have a couple hundred in my archives that I'll be more than happy to send you.

P.S. All of the styles in my gig disks will also work in the tyros. You'll find them at www.psrtutorial.com .

Cheers,

Gary
_________________________
PSR-S950, Bose L1 Compact, TC Helicon Harmony-M, Digitech VR, Samson Q7, Sennheiser E855, Custom Console, Morgan 33 Out Island Sailboat, and lots of other silly stuff!

Top
#152320 - 04/15/03 08:41 PM Re: Tyros
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4187
Hi Gary,
Thanks for the site info and your unselfish contributions - as with many others. I can't wait to get my board (Thursday) and check out your gig disks. (After, of course, I've gone through the on-board styles). As far as Rol/Korg - definitely the VA series and PA-80. (I don't ask for much, do I!)
Thanks again,
Zuki
_________________________


Top
#152321 - 04/16/03 06:44 AM Re: Tyros
SD_FAN Offline
Member

Registered: 02/22/03
Posts: 236
Loc: São Paulo, SP / Brazil
Zuki

I have the X1's styles converted to PSR9000.
If you want I email to you.

Armando
_________________________
Armando

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online