SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#148387 - 12/04/00 03:37 PM Roland VA7 or XP60/80?
Anonymous
Unregistered

This is my first post here, and I'm a newbie as far as arranger keyboards and synths are concerned (which will probably be evident after this post!).

I am in the market for a 'keyboard'. My main criteria are: range/quality of sound, on-board sequencer, and portability. I currently play guitar in a small church group and want to add some variety. The main brands available in my locality are Yamaha and Roland. Korg and Kurzweill also feature, but best availability is of Yamaha and Roland. I have ruled out Yamaha as I don't particularly like their 'sound' nor the 'feel' of the keyboards in the PSR range (including the PSR9000). I know others will disagree, but this is a very subjective area!

I have narrowed my choices down to Roland - either VA7 or XP60/80. I realise these are different kinds of animal, but here's how I see the options stacking up:

VA7 - offers me huge variety of quality sounds without having to outlay on expansion boards. It has what seems to me a fairly intuitive interface (I don't need to worry about extra screen-touches or button-presses slowing my performances - it is not a factor for me). It has built-in speakers (ok - not a lot of power, but OK for house /small hall gigs), so is quite portable. It also has Variphrase and built-in styles (not on my requirements list, but could be fun to experiment with).

XP60/80 - offers also great quality sounds, but need to purchase expansion boards to get the variety of the VA7. Interface seems a little more difficult than the VA7, but manageable. Needs external amplification, adding to the cost and reducing portability. Does not have built-in styles - user needs to program everything, or so the dealer told me.