SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#147884 - 08/06/07 11:27 AM .. still confused, need advice!
Creepy-Fingers Offline

Hello, this is my first desperate post after searching around the forum for quite some time now

well, apparently I need to buy a new keyboard. I've been doing the search-around for many months now, I even visited youtube for samples o.O

I like the new DGX-620 (YPG-625), especially the harpsichord (oh, I only care about harpsichord, piano and pipe organ). However, there is a big problem, it's fully-weighted keys, I'm not used to that at all! I can handle semi-weighted (light weighted) well.

So, I thought the DGX-505 is just the same as the DGX620 except that it has semi-weighted keys right? no, I listened to some piano samples on youtube and I think DGX-620 is better. I don't know about the harpsichord on the DGX-505, never heard it.

well, piano is my favorite instrument, but I can't live without harpsichord. I don't care about any other instrument (pipe organ is my least favorite, rarely play it).

oh, I won't buy anything off Casio.
...what should I do now :S

#147885 - 08/06/07 11:52 AM Re: .. still confused, need advice!
squeak_D Offline

Loc: West Virginia
Have a look at the DGX-520. It's not fully weighted, yet still has 88 keys. If I had my choice of this unit over the 505 I'd take the 520. Here's a link:
http://www.yamaha.com/yamahavgn/CDA/Cont...D205200,00.html

If 76 keys are enough you may want to consider the unit I just got. Check out the Yamaha NP-30. Supposed to have the same sounds as the P series. It has 76 graded (semi-weighted) keys--this keybed is new and exclusive to the NP-30. The unit has a total of 10 sounds. It can be bought for $299.00 new. A very good price IMO.

[This message has been edited by squeak_D (edited 08-06-2007).]