SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#147669 - 02/10/05 02:32 PM Problem with dry hands
juneau Offline

Loc: Red Wing, MN, USA
I have a problem in the winter with dry hands and that makes my fingers slip off keys very easily. I know I should use a hand lotion regularly to keep my fingers from getting too dry, but I'm not very good at remembering to do this and I haven't found a lotion you can put on right before you play that isn't greasy feeling or that soaks in quickly.

Is there a special lotion or ointment that any of you use before a performance to give you good tactile feel of the keys?

#147670 - 02/10/05 02:49 PM Re: Problem with dry hands
squeak_D Offline

Loc: West Virginia
This is a good question. It's an issue that is going to vary for each idividual (depending on their skin). With any lotion you have to give it time to set into your skin. I can't think of any lotions that abrosb fast. Here's a suggestion. I know there are some good hand sanitizers out there that have Aloe in them and other skin conditioners. These products are mostly alchohol based and dry extremely fast. For my own needs I use baby lotion. My skin gets extremely dry (what's often called "gett'n ashy") Baby lotion works really well for me. Even the cheap stuff.

Squeak
GEAR: Yamaha MOXF-6, Casio MZX-500, Roland Juno-Di, M-Audio Venom, Roland RS-70, Yamaha PSR S700, M-Audio Axiom Pro-61 (Midi Controller). SOFTWARE: Mixcraft-7, PowerTracks Pro Audio 2013, Beat Thang Virtual, Dimension Le.

#147671 - 02/10/05 03:03 PM Re: Problem with dry hands
GlennT Offline

Loc: Medina, OH, USA
Oops, for a moment I thought I was on the 'Hints From Heloise' forum

#147672 - 02/10/05 04:02 PM Re: Problem with dry hands
Nobby Offline

Loc: Palmyra Mo. U.S.A.
Guys, I have a little round powder box that my wife had empted. It has a small puff inside, I put a little talcum powder on the puff, then when you get ready to play just touch the tips of your fingers on the puff.