SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#147432 - 07/08/02 01:32 PM Differences or all the same - Audiences and musicians in the States and elsewhere
Markus Offline

Loc: Germany
Following that forum I often think about the differences between musicians and audiences in the States and here in Germany. But concerning the topic above I have come across that everything here in Germany is just the same. OK, musicians that use arrangers are much more common here, and have been for years. There is a german brand "Wersi" that used to be very popular here in the 80's. They kind of fostered the one-man-band-thing throughout their instruments. But anyway. Audiences here are the same than they seem to be at your places. Sometimes you have the impression that really no one is listening. Another thing is that the people at weddings - gigs we mostly play- seem to dance less and less. I have been playing at weddings since 1982 and in the good old eighties people started dancing to our music right after dinner, that used to be 9.00 p.m.. Nowadays people sometimes start dancing at about 1 o'clock in the morning. And I am not talking about 20 couples here. I am talking about 5 to maybe 10 couples at the most - from a bunch of 100 people altogether. So why are we doing this? I think, we are doing it for ourselves. Our normal gigging is done with me on keyboards and my brother on guitar. What I like most about it is singing. I am singing the second voice and all the solo parts and really like it. We are singing about 90 per cent of our programme singing in two parts.
I know bands that cannot do that at all. They are as successful or even more than we are. They are real good showmen. We are not, and I never wanted to be one. I always wanted to be a musician and a singer and that's what I am.