SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#14078 - 07/28/00 07:40 PM Got an ASR-10, a midi cable, and a junker HDD. Now what?
Anonymous
Unregistered

Also have a bunch of computers, and a good stereo system. I want to buy whatever I need to be able to compose, arrange, produce, and ultimately record to CD. So, just kinda guessing (I'm just getting started at this!), I need something to quickly and reliably read and write files, maybe an Akai MPC2000XL Studio, and beyond that..you tell me! Special cards for my computer? Cakewalk?

I know this isn't very stimulating discussion, but help me get up and going, and I promise I'll come back as more of a contributer.

What is your setup (make & model)? How do you hook everything up? Do you just kind of midi-chain everything together? Is midi like a common interface between everything?

Thanks. Dan

#14079 - 08/08/00 08:02 AM Re: Got an ASR-10, a midi cable, and a junker HDD. Now what?
bry139 Offline

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan S:
Also have a bunch of computers, and a good stereo system. I want to buy whatever I need to be able to compose, arrange, produce, and ultimately record to CD. So, just kinda guessing (I'm just getting started at this!), I need something to quickly and reliably read and write files, maybe an Akai MPC2000XL Studio, and beyond that..you tell me! Special cards for my computer? Cakewalk?

I know this isn't very stimulating discussion, but help me get up and going, and I promise I'll come back as more of a contributer.

What is your setup (make & model)? How do you hook everything up? Do you just kind of midi-chain everything together? Is midi like a common interface between everything?

Thanks. Dan