Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#133711 - 08/25/04 08:05 AM Re: Almost In Love... PSR-3000 with vocal
GlennT Offline

Loc: Medina, OH, USA
Quote:
Originally posted by RichUK:
I ran the phono-outs of the PSR to the phono inputs of a DAT machine, then ran the digital out of the DAT to my Roland HD recorder's digital in

applied DC offset

Rich,

Thanks loads for the run-down. Just a couple of basic questions... hope you don't mind, I'm still a novice at recording. Why do you go thru the DAT and then into the HD rather than go directly into the HD? And what is DC offset?

Thanks again,
Glenn

#133712 - 08/25/04 09:23 AM Re: Almost In Love... PSR-3000 with vocal
RichUK Offline

Loc: England
Hi Glenn,

I mainly utilise the DAT machine for its analogue to digital converters and to bypass the onboard mic pre-amps on the Roland. The mic pres on the Tascam are supposed to be quite good. Also, going into the HD recorder digitally does make the recording process a bit quicker and easier for me.

However, there is at least one song on my website which was recorded (both sounds and vocals) straight into the HD recorder... 'Unchained Melody'.

I read once that performing a DC offset correction (I missed out the essential word 'correction' on my last post) was a recommended step after recording a wav file. I found this that will explain it better than I could:

'If the average between the positive and negative wave peaks in your file is not zero, the result is inaudible low-frequency distortion. Although you won't be able to hear it in the .wav file, it will seriously degrade your compressed file, as well as introduce further distortion if other filters are applied to the uncorrected wave. The DC offset function corrects this problem, and should always be applied as the first step in optimizing an audio file..'

Also: