SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#126294 - 05/06/03 09:58 PM More thoughts on my KP-100S
Beakybird Offline

I'm still enjoying my new KP-100S. I have been getting very good responses from my music programs lately.

I just shipped off my JBL Eon10 G2. As I was putting everything away, I looked at the specs of the JBL. The frequency response is nearly identical: 65hz-17000khz for the Motion Sound and 70hz-18000khz for the JBL. So the JBL's bass response is similar to the Motion Sound - and possibly the smaller speaker size of the Motion Sound colored my first impressions of it.

The JBL is a lot lighter 23lbs. vs. 38lbs. and a lot more powerful: 200watts versus 100watts. Still, I no longer have the phase cancelling effect on the piano sound of my PSR2000.

Yesterday, I asked the residents and staff at a nursing home if they noticed any difference in my sound - I've been playing there for three years, and I've been using the JBL for the last 9 months. They all said they haven't noticed any difference. So any difference in the sound is probably very subtle.

Since it's a tax write off, and since I wouldn't mind a little more bass, I have ordered some replacement speakers for my KP-100S. The amp comes with Eminence Alphas, and I'm replacing these with an OEM Eminence 8" speaker that weighs about 2 1/2 lbs. more apiece, but has a frequency response of 40hz-5000khz. The Alphas are rated at 65hz-5000khz. I'll keep everyone posted if there is a noticeable difference. If not, I'm returning them.

This upgrade will make the amp weigh 43lbs. Heck, for 12lbs. more I could have the KP-200S. But 12lbs. might be the straw that broke this camels back. And besides, I don't think the KP-200S would fit in the trunk with the rest of my gear.

Beakybird

#126295 - 05/07/03 07:50 AM Re: More thoughts on my KP-100S
The Pro Offline

Loc: Atlanta, Georgia
Interesting thoughts. Please let us know how the new speakers work out.