SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#122925 - 01/20/03 11:05 AM Re: Standing during permances
Anonymous
Unregistered

My opinion that standing allows a better contact with the audience comes from my personal experience. ALL the gigs in which I stood were very successful ones, with a lot of communication between me and the public. They were probably technicaly quite poor (a lot of mistakes) but I guess when people are having great fun, this doesn't count anymore. This might just be a coincidence, of course, I'm not experienced enough to have a significant sample of gigs to be able to state that standing is better..

I was just thinking that it would be great to have a setup - keyboard stand - that would allow us to somehow instantly switch from a sit position to a stand up position with just the click of a button So that we could ajust ourselves to the mood of the gig/crowd.

-- José.

[This message has been edited by matias (edited 01-20-2003).]

[This message has been edited by matias (edited 01-20-2003).]

#122926 - 01/20/03 11:29 AM Re: Standing during permances
Dnj Offline

Us solo Arranger Keyboard players are constantly seen as just a some guy playing a keyboard VS what the majority of people see at one of todays affairs...Whats that you say? ...DJ's !!!that are standing up, with 2 other guys and girl dancers running around. Flashing lights, fog machines, etc etc. So saturated is the public that when WE perform they think of us as "DJ"S!!! last week one of my clients says to me
" All these years I thought you were playing records" "I can't believe thats you singing and playing it sounds like a record" From the audience's view we do look like a DJ because people just see a square box in front of us that looks like a DJ COFFIN turntable rig. They have no idea what were doin, which is sad.
My good customers know because I have played for them for years but new younger crowds? Forget it!!If you wanna make it in the