SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#116815 - 11/17/01 02:52 AM Which arrangers DON'T have speakers?
BossX Offline

Loc: Chitown, USA
I'm a pro player working solo and already have all the speakers I need and don't want to lug the extra weight. Who knows which arrangers don't have built in speakers?
I've never used an arranger but I want one now.
By the way I hear the Gem SK760 doesn't... but somewhere on this forum I read about it having a bass dropout problem (sometimes).
I knowof the PSR900pro ... no speakers. I've even heard of a module made by Solton that couldbe used (I guess) with a controller keyboard. I don't know what kind of success that would bring.
I almost sprung for a Korg PA80... bnut the speaker thing... I just had to hold off. I just don't see the point of having speakers on a keyboard on a live stage.
Soooooo.... can you help? Thanks for the help.

#116816 - 11/17/01 04:37 AM Re: Which arrangers DON'T have speakers?
Jocko Offline

BossX,
As you have found out, most all of the arrangers have speakers, as they are meant usually for a different crowd.
You can however turn them off like on the PA 80.
My suggestion is to buy an arranger that you like the way it plays the voices and overall how it works and put the speakers last on your list, meaning, it doesn't make sense to by an arranger that has lousy sound patches and is a nightmare to use, just because it doesn't have speakers.
The cool thing about having speakers, is if you want to just fire up and compose a bit or take it to practice or wherever, you don't have to lug your speakers too.
Terry

#116817 - 11/17/01 04:40 AM Re: Which arrangers DON'T have speakers?
Gunnar Jonny Offline

Loc: Norway
There are several keyboards without speakers.
Such as i.e. ketron SD1, Yamaha PSR9000 Pro and
if I'm not wrong the Roland VA76.
GJ
"Success is not counted by how high you have climbed
but by how many you brought with you." (Wil Rose)