SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#115155 - 10/24/02 04:24 AM Re: I have played both the Tyros and the Genesys and the winner is...
Dreamer Offline

Loc: Rome - Italy
Tony,
I hope not to have hurt you with what I said about the Genesys; I am sure that my needs are completely different from yours. Just to make an example, I don't sing and so harmonizers are to me nothing else than a waste of space inside a keyboard; I know that GEM keyboards have very good sequencers, but unfortunately I do not use sequencers at all, because I record my tracks directly into a program like Cool Edit Pro as .wav tracks. Finally, I am not a professional musician so I cannot buy a keyboard and deduct it from my income (too bad...) and so have to be careful to buy keyboards that will keep more than others their value over time. All this is to say that my priorities are different from yours and that's fine; you have to admit that I didn't go raving about the Tyros because I think that I pointed out its shortcomings too, and in fact I didn't buy one!
Since this Forum is a place to exchange opinions and stay informed and since nobody here works for Yamaha, GEM, Roland or Ketron, I think that we all can point out what goes or doesn't go in a keyboard and this should also encourage manufactures, who seem to monitor this Forum, to improve their products.
I agree that you know the Genesys much better than I do and so am ready to listen to any demo you can record with it or, if you simply make a list of all the sounds you like most, I promise that I will go back to the store and listen to them all. On the other hand, if you say that I have to tweak them to get the best results, then I agree with Terry: a keyboard should sound great right out of the box, otherwise what are sound engineers paid for?
Friendly,
Andrea

#115156 - 10/24/02 08:59 AM Re: I have played both the Tyros and the Genesys and the winner is...
sk880user Offline