SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
#112128 - 10/08/07 02:39 PM Re: Psr 3000, Roland E50 face to face
ianmcnll Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/27/05
Posts: 10592
Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
My old Yamaha PSR-2000 lacked dedicated buttons for Intros 1.2,and 3 and ditto for the endings.

It was fiddly and a BIG pain to use, but was happily corrected on the 3k and the S900.

Not having dedicated buttons(a la E-50) is a poor design...no doubt about it...even worse than the transpose design.

What were they thinking?

Or, more realistically...what were they not thinking?

Ian
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros4, Yamaha MS-60S Powered Monitors(2), Yamaha CS-01, Yamaha TQ-5, Yamaha PSR-S775.

Top
#112129 - 10/08/07 04:52 PM Re: Psr 3000, Roland E50 face to face
ricok987 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/00
Posts: 203
Loc: N Brunswick, NJ, US
I like some of the organs and guitar voices on the Roland more than the ones on the Yamaha, but the Yamaha has better brass section and solo instruments. I have 2 rigs: the 3000 paired with a Motif 6, and the E50 paired with a Fantom XA. I find the Yamaha combo is a lot more versatile, and nothing beats the Motif's Electric Pianos...

Top
#112130 - 10/18/07 12:10 AM Re: Psr 3000, Roland E50 face to face
Burkels Offline
Member

Registered: 02/06/04
Posts: 319
Loc: Alkmaar, The Netherlands, Euro...
Quote:
Originally posted by ChicoBrasil:
Burkels

I wrote about DEDICATED BUTTONS for Intro 1, 2,3, breaks and Endings 1, 2, 3.
I wrote about dedicated button for Fade in out.
Can you understand me ?
I don't want discuss about multi function buttons.
If you don't like my comments, it's easy : forget it.

[This message has been edited by ChicoBrasil (edited 10-08-2007).]


They ARE dedicated INTRO 1,2,3,4 buttons. Programming the VLink as FADE by default leaves you with a dedicated button. How much more "dedicated" do you want any button to be if it has a label INTRO? Sure, you need to tell the instrument WHICH Intro or Ending you want. Seems obvious to me.

"Liking your comments" or not has got nothing to do with this. You state your observations, I state mine. And my main observation is that you don't know how to handle the E-50 and as a result are posting misinformation. Like I said: if you want to write a review, make sure you got the facts right.

[This message has been edited by Burkels (edited 10-18-2007).]

[This message has been edited by Burkels (edited 10-18-2007).]
_________________________
- THE DUTCH KEYBOARD FORUM
http://www.keyboardforum.nl
Happy owner of a Roland E-80 V2

Top
#112131 - 10/18/07 06:57 AM Re: Psr 3000, Roland E50 face to face
ChicoBrasil Offline
Member

Registered: 06/09/01
Posts: 993
Loc: Belo Horizonte,Minas Gerais,Br...
As you said,I don't know how to handle the E-50, so
I need to learn :
I want to play something in solo Keys with two hands( for example,piano), while the kbd is running Intro 3 and intro 4 in sequence ,then I go to arrang. 2 .
How can I do it?
Playing my 3000 or S900 I just press DEDICATET buttons 3,4 (intro) and DEDICATET button 2 (arrang.).
It's easy .
Chico




[This message has been edited by ChicoBrasil (edited 10-18-2007).]

Top
#112132 - 10/18/07 07:48 AM Re: Psr 3000, Roland E50 face to face
travlin'easy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/08/02
Posts: 14302
Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
From my short exposure to the E-50 I faintly recall there was an intro button. However, in order to access the various intros available didn't you have to open a menu that allowed you to select from intro 1,2 and 3? Somewhat like the PSR-2000 intros, which were also contained within a menu for both the intros and endings.

The PSR-3000s intro 1,2 and 3 are all on dedicated buttons, as are endings 1,2 and 3. This eliminated the problems associated with accessing a menu while performing and loosing eye contact with the audience.

Good, unbiased review Chico,

Gary

------------------
Travlin' Easy
_________________________
PSR-S950, Bose L1 Compact, TC Helicon Harmony-M, Digitech VR, Samson Q7, Sennheiser E855, Custom Console, Morgan 33 Out Island Sailboat, and lots of other silly stuff!

Top
#112133 - 10/18/07 08:33 AM Re: Psr 3000, Roland E50 face to face
adimatis Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/28/05
Posts: 1154
Loc: Oradea, RO
no, no, no!

after using my e60 for some good months now, i can tell you it is as easy as yamaha or korg to use intros/main/endings.
while someone not used to the way it works might believe is a bad design, i can tell you it is not al all like that, i would say even that it allows very cool combination between all of these.

gary,
no need to go into menus. if you want to start with intro 3 and then continue with main 1, it's very easy: press 1, press intro, press 3, ready!

ian,
what i think is missing from roland's design is something else: a fill-in in non-auto mode, as yamaha has. but it's really not a big deal.

it is maybe hard to explain, but you can trust me when i say it is not difficult at all, and e60's style control is quite clever, even tho in the begining is confusing a little bit. like any other thing, using it gets you used to it!


[This message has been edited by adimatis (edited 10-18-2007).]
_________________________
Yamaha S770, Studio One 3, EMU 0404USB, ESI, ATH, Dell. And others.

Top
#112134 - 10/18/07 08:38 AM Re: Psr 3000, Roland E50 face to face
ianmcnll Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/27/05
Posts: 10592
Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
According to the E-50 manual...

"press the [INTRO] button (so that it lights), one of the VARIATION [1]~[4] buttons to select the “complexity” of
the introduction."

So the buttons are there...it just takes TWO button presses to access the intros...the 3k needs only ONE press.

The E-50 has similar operations for the endings...TWO button presses as opposed to the 3k's ONE.

Transposer on the E-50 requires TWO operations...one to activate the display/menu, another to choose the key...the PSR-3000 need only ONE.

So the E-50 has slightly more complex operations than the 3k...I guess it depends if you can live with them...or not.

Ian
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros4, Yamaha MS-60S Powered Monitors(2), Yamaha CS-01, Yamaha TQ-5, Yamaha PSR-S775.

Top
#112135 - 10/18/07 08:57 AM Re: Psr 3000, Roland E50 face to face
ianmcnll Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/27/05
Posts: 10592
Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
Quote:
Originally posted by adimatis:
ian,
what i think is missing from roland's design is something else: a fill-in in non-auto mode, as yamaha has. but it's really not a big deal.


On the Yamaha you can skip a fill between variations by either turning off the Auto-Fill In, OR by pressing the main variation button you are going to twice(quickly).

I couldn't see it in the manual, but maybe the E-50 will do the latter method.

Two things the E-50 has that aren't on the 3k...

1.A Half Bar button. Quote from the manual,"Certain pop songs in 4/4 contain bars that only last two beats. The usual place for such a bar is between the first and the second verse.
Another favorite position for “halved” bars is at the end of a chorus or the bridge. Pressing this button icon does not change Style playback right away. Only
when a Fill-In starts will the Half Bar function be activated and play half the number of beats of the fill
you selected."

2.A Fill Rit. button...Again from the manual, "The tempo slows down while the fill is being played. At the end of the fill, the Style returns to the previously set tempo."

I think those functions are very cool and wish the 3k(and the Tyros/S900) had them.

Ian
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros4, Yamaha MS-60S Powered Monitors(2), Yamaha CS-01, Yamaha TQ-5, Yamaha PSR-S775.

Top
#112136 - 10/18/07 10:59 AM Re: Psr 3000, Roland E50 face to face
ChicoBrasil Offline
Member

Registered: 06/09/01
Posts: 993
Loc: Belo Horizonte,Minas Gerais,Br...
Ian

I said about 2 intros or endings in sequence.
You can do it pressing intro 2 ,at the end you can press intro 3 .Then you will have a double intro with intro 2,intro 3 sequences.

About rittardando, with any style running, press 3 times any ending button to have a rit.
(suitable for any Yamie arranger)

Regards
Chico

Top
#112137 - 10/18/07 11:00 AM Re: Psr 3000, Roland E50 face to face
Fran Carango Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 8968
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
My Roland has single button pushes for all of the features mentioned including the half measure features and the single touch transpose feature too..

Maybe these better options have to deal with cost of instruments..

Doesn't the "new" price of the PSR3000 reflect a higher price tag of the E-50..


And My lower priced tag G70 has many more features than the higher priced Tyros2...Go figure..
_________________________
www.francarango.com



Top
Page 2 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online