SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#107350 - 10/08/06 10:46 AM What do the following terms mean
abacus Offline

Loc: English Riviera, UK
Hello All
I am basically a self taught player, and started off playing organ, consequently I am not familiar with some of the terms mentioned on the site, I would therefore be grateful if someone could enlighten me.
1. Chops (Were I come from it means a thick slice of pork with a section of bone in it)
2. Half Pedalling (I know a piano can have up to 3 pedals, but I always thought that you just pressed them for on, and released them for off.)
3. Rootless chord recognition (Does this mean a C chord without the C or a C chord played in the 1st or 2nd inversion, or is it something else)
Look forward to your replies

Bill,

#107351 - 10/08/06 11:17 AM Re: What do the following terms mean
doc-z Offline

Loc: Norway
Hello Abacus.

To answer your questions:

1. Chops is a slang term for good skills.

2. Half pedalling, is basically a way of emulating a real sustain pedal, on a real piano. Since the sustain pedal on a real piano is mechanical, you can hear the effect of it by just pressing it slightly down, and you can hold a note and press it up and down and you can hear it. On a digital piano you can't do this. So they made half pedalling, which is basically two different points in the pedal, triggering two different samples.