SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#106068 - 08/14/06 10:25 PM If you played another instrument did you become a better muscian when you went to arr
bruno123 Online   content

Loc: West Palm Beach, FL 33417
After playing guitar for so many years I went to the keyboard and started to do a one-man-band. I was a accomplished guitar player –Jazz, classical, the pop music for my time -- I studied for many years.

When I started on keyboard a new world opened up. As a guitar player I knew about chord progressions and the different keys (flats and sharps) On the keyboard I received the whole picture, it was less mechanical. There far more solo playing and I had to learn how each instrument should be played. My piano playing stills have a lot of guitar technic, I will admit I am a poor piano player.

I no longer just fill in or strum or solo, I have to do it all. I want the sound of a whole band doing whatever they do. I have to select the right instrument in the right place, the correct fills and styles. And there’s so much more.

John C.

[This message has been edited by bruno123 (edited 08-14-2006).]

#106069 - 08/14/06 11:53 PM Re: If you played another instrument did you become a better muscian when you went to arr
George V Offline

Loc: Sofia
Hi,

I came from the Violin, Viola and Piano. I mostly enjoyed Piano.

I admit I've become a better composer since I started using an arranger keyboard. Now I can listen to my arrangements without the need to gather musicians. Also, it is fun to mix and match different sounds and see how different sets of sounds have influence on the general feeling of the musical work.

However, by no means I've become a better instrumentalist. These unweighted keys prevent me from developing a better playing techique.

Regards,
George

[This message has been edited by George V (edited 08-15-2006).]

#106070 - 08/15/06 03:34 AM Re: If you played another instrument did you become a better muscian when you went to arr