SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#1046 - 12/15/03 07:48 AM Have hardware samplers disappeared?
Anonymous
Unregistered

I have noticed that no one makes stand alone hardware samplers anymore. Actually no one has made any for a while. Not since E-mu released the EIV back in the late 90's. Samplers have now either been combined into a music workstaion or are in software form. Has the interst in standalone samplers lost there appeal to the masses?

#1047 - 12/15/03 08:26 AM Re: Have hardware samplers disappeared?
3351 Offline

Loc: Toronto, Canada.
That's funny!
Roland, E-mu and even AkAI have released hardware samples not all that
long ago.
I personally prefer soft samplers and samplecards. I've been using samplecell cards for like 10 years and nowadays I switched to using an EXS24 sampler.
Even though I always say that I hate mouse clicking; when it comes down to sample editing mouse clicking beats the hell out of doing SCSI, USB and MIDI sample dumps or having to deal with the front panel displays!

-ED-

#1048 - 12/15/03 08:41 AM Re: Have hardware samplers disappeared?
Anonymous
Unregistered

What I meant to say was have keyboard samplers disappeared?

#1049 - 12/15/03 08:46 AM Re: Have hardware samplers disappeared?
tekminus Offline

There never really were any similar amount of keys as there are rack versions. Kurzweil still makes them. Anyone ever tried the Akai S1000KB? That thing was gorgeous and expensive.

-tek

#1050 - 12/15/03 09:05 AM Re: Have hardware samplers disappeared?
Anonymous
Unregistered

Okay I was just courious.

#1051 - 12/15/03 09:39 AM Re: Have hardware samplers disappeared?
3351 Offline

Oh yeh...Kurzwell.
For some reason I didn't think of those.
May be 'cause I hate the damn things.
I'm happy to say that I only have 1 kurzwell in my studio. Just for compatibility and some good sounds. I'll never use the damn thing as a sampler though. It's got enough issues as a synth.