SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 5 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
#104434 - 11/14/06 12:19 PM Re: Piano bar, the worst gig around
Dnj Offline

Russ....It would be my honor to watch you perform sometime if I'm in the area.....as a fellow Pro I look between the lines to find The "Entertainer" in acts that NoBody can see or hear from the outside....the word entertainer takes on many definitions .....but I'm sure you fall into the category nicely in your own way & style for sure....stay well & happy holiday to you & yours!!

#104435 - 11/14/06 12:29 PM Re: Piano bar, the worst gig around
cgiles Offline

Loc: Roswell,GA/USA
Russ, Russ, Russ....as a fellow jazz player who has real difficulty even saying "short call for alcohol" (announcing the break), I understand your point.......understand it, not necessarily agree with it. I think the people that came to watch Miles play all night with his back to the audience WERE there to be entertained. Its just that they were entertained by the great music and the knowledge that they were in the presence of greatness.

The point is, it really is all about entertainment at some level. It's just that those of us who are blessed to be able to play jazz at a high level can entertain both ourselves AND the audience at the same time.

So in the end, the "entertainer" and the "jazz musician" are doing the same thing, entertaining. It's just that the "jazz musician" is entertaining a more refined, more enlightened, more sophisticated, less plastered, audience.

chas

#104436 - 11/14/06 12:42 PM Re: Piano bar, the worst gig around
captain Russ Offline

Loc: Lexington, Ky, USA
Well put, Chas....you NAILED IT!

Russ

#104437 - 11/14/06 02:25 PM Re: Piano bar, the worst gig around
hellboy44 Offline

Loc: Australia
Well this little interchange has reminded me how far short my musical skills fall, and how much of a gap there is in "attitude" (still) with Jazz musos....

Do you guys even PLAY with arrangers?

BUT...