Yamaha's colored icons

Posted by: lacobo

Yamaha's colored icons - 06/05/06 09:12 AM

Update!

Apart from keyboard player I'm also a developer. Now I've set my goals to make an icon changer for the styles. I found all the icons that Yamaha uses in their latest keyboards @ the Tyros2 voice editor. However, only half of them has the correct name, the rest is named differently. By downloading the T2 styles and comparing them with the T2 styles I could figure out around 650 icons. It took quite a while to get the rest of the icon-names, but I'm now at 90%.
I've now figured out how to recognize the different sounds and styles, how to get a single folder name displayed etc.

Update2: All icons are now sorted out. I also found a way to display the tempo of a style (why can't Yamaha show the tempo of non-factory-fixed-style's?). The program is gettings smarter: It recognizes Live!, S.art, Cool!, Mega, Sweet!, Drum, Live!SFX, SFX sounds and Basic, Pro, Session and normal styles.

A small updated test-app looks like this:

Bert.

[This message has been edited by lacobo (edited 07-08-2006).]
Posted by: TomTomSF

Re: Yamaha's colored icons - 06/05/06 07:50 PM

Michael Bedesem's great program, MidiPlayer, can change and/or assign any of the Yamaha icons to any style or midi file. While it's main purpose is to play styles and midis on your computer, it does already have this icon editing function. Not to discourage you, but you might take a look at what he has done:
http://www.svpworld.com/psr_software.htm#stylemanager

Tom G.

Re: Yamaha's colored icons - 06/06/06 09:03 AM

Hi Tom,

I'm not discouraged at all. An icon changer is only the first program I want to make, some other programs can follow, but they would all involve the icons. However I can't find the icon change option in the Midi player. Can you tell me where I can find this option?

Thanks,
Bert.
Posted by: kbrkr

Re: Yamaha's colored icons - 06/06/06 10:13 AM

Lacobo,