My First Video (warts and all )

Posted by: Bernie9

My First Video (warts and all ) - 05/20/22 01:38 PM

Since I am not playing out much since my 17 yr, 3 times a week gig ended, I am trying to learn video. Here is my first:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwIAHVXdWvw
Posted by: montunoman

Re: My First Video (warts and all ) - 05/22/22 07:37 AM

Hey Bernie, thank you for uploading your video , I wish more of us would share our work.
Good playing, but I’d like to hear a bit more backing which I think will give you a fuller sound. Just my opinion, so take it for what it ‘s worth….

Re: My First Video (warts and all ) - 05/22/22 01:10 PM

Hi Paul
God bless you for the comment, the only one in 118 views. You being the master of the Latin genre, I fully agree. I am brand new to video, and didn't realize the importance of many elements to come together. With your encouragement, I will soldier on.

Thank you.
Posted by: Diki

Re: My First Video (warts and all ) - 05/22/22 08:42 PM

I hate to say it, but I got to agree with montunoman.

I wish I had a dollar for every time I posted about listening to demos before you post and trying to see if they’re in balance with the style..! It’s quite possibly the #1 mistake most people make. We try so hard to hear ourselves well, we end up making sure you can barely hear anything else at all!

It is honestly one of the most difficult things to do, to play WITHIN the mix, not completely on top of it. The rule of thumb is, if it’s a pretty busy style, if you can hear yourself really well, odds are you’re too loud..! If you can JUST hear yourself, it’s probably about right.

The trouble of course is, how do we play well without really hearing ourselves upfront, loud and proud? That mostly boils down to learning the song and solos etc. to the point where you don’t HAVE to be loud and proud just to avoid mistakes.

But there’s a trick you can try….