Looking for a Bigger PA System with Subs

Posted by: montunoman

Looking for a Bigger PA System with Subs - 03/08/19 08:54 AM

Hi,

I've been using two Bose Compacts for years, and still like them, but I gotten several events coming up that I don't think they will handle well. We got booked for few quinceanera (15th birthday party) and some wedding (young couples) Some of the events we'll be alternating with DJ, while others I"ll be playing recorded music during the breaks and special presentations (mostly very heavy bass material like hip hop)
I don't think my Bose Compacts will produce the sound that the young people are accustomed to.....

So, I'm thinking of using the Bose Compacts as monitors, and setting up behind pair of 12" powered speakers and and pair of 15" or 18" subs.

I already own a single Electro-Voice ZLX-12P 12", which sounds pretty good, so I thought I just get another one to complete the set.

Now, as for the subs, I'm not sure.... I've never used subs before. Not sure at all what to get or what size even. I know I'd like something under 70LBS. My budget is $2000.

Any suggestions? Thanks!
Posted by: Bill Lewis

Re: Looking for a Bigger PA System with Subs - 03/08/19 09:10 AM

I use a Behringer 1200 sub (40 lbs. ) with my two Eon Ones and it fills out the sound nicely. Maybe two of those with your Bose Compacts. Roll the bass off your compacts so they can push the mids and highs better and let the subs do the heavy lifting.
I just did a party in a bowling alley and it was all dance music. My system worked well in such a large enclosure.
Bring the EV along and lay it on the floor behind you for a monitor. .
Good luck.
Posted by: Dnj

Re: Looking for a Bigger PA System with Subs - 03/08/19 09:35 AM

Paul call Frank at Audioworks ct he can advise you in the right way for sure on a PA.

http://audioworksct.com/

Re: Looking for a Bigger PA System with Subs - 03/08/19 10:11 AM