A most unusual week...

Posted by: travlin'easy

A most unusual week... - 12/29/10 05:16 PM

For the first time in many, many years I didn't have to play Christmas Day. It was really nice to do nothing for a change. The kids were here Christmas Eve, my grandson was overloaded with presents from Grandma, and shortly after dinner they were on their way home.

The day after Christmas the schedule was back to hectic, couple private parties, some NH and assisted living jobs, etc..the usual stuff.

In order to keep my sanity, and prevent the repetitiveness from becoming boring, I try to add some new songs to the show every week. I've been doing this for many years and not only does it keep the performances fresh, but additionally, the audiences seem to enjoy the new songs as well.

This past week, one of the new additions is a song that I wasn't sure would be accepted on the NH/assisted living circuit--Black Velvet. Boy was I wrong. They loved it! It's hard to conceive 80-year-olds tapping their feet and clapping their hand to Black Velvet, but that's exactly what happened. To top it off, there was an elderly lady sitting just 10 feet from me who was singing the song. After I finished she said "I love that song--I used to sing it all the time when I was in a blues band in Baltimore."

Cheers,

Gary
Posted by: kbrkr

Re: A most unusual week... - 12/29/10 05:39 PM

Gary, I'm sure if you sung the telephone book with your voice and charisma, the crowd would of loved it.

Congratulations and Happy New Year!

p.s. I'm always amazed at the songs some people love that I assume they wouldn't. That leads me to bring up my "continued" resolution for 2011; to not make pre-judgements and keep and open mind.

Re: A most unusual week... - 12/29/10 06:38 PM