VSTi help

Posted by: vagro

VSTi help - 05/30/09 07:15 AM

I give up upgrading and buying new keyboards. In my country a Psr s900 is almost Us$3000 and the only (used) Tyros 2 available is Us$ 7500. Funny isn’t it? Yamaha keeps raising their prices and Korg lowering them probably to compensate the devaluation of our currency. On the other hand I don’t need neither more keys nor hardware since I have too many keyboards connected through the PC. So I think a VSTi software would be my next step. I am a hobbyist playing at home and I would love to have orchestral sounds articulated like Yamaha SA voices playing live. Searching the web I found some VSTi’s like Synful Orchestra and Edirol Orchestra. Do you think their sounds are good enough comparable to a TOTL arranger? Can they be played and articulated live and which would be the simplest software to run those VSTi’s? Do you recommend other VSTi’s? Remember I am a home player and I like playing live not programming or editing. Thank you.
Posted by: abacus

Re: VSTi help - 05/30/09 07:45 AM

Hi Vagro
Articulation voices have been around in VSTi long before Tyros 2 came about, and the ones introduced over the last few years, make SA2 look and sound positively crude.
Quality of sound will easily leave any hardware arranger in the dust.
The main problem is control, as they were designed to be used in a studio, (VST = Virtual Studio Technology) and apart from Wersi and Lionstracs (Which can load them on-board) most hardware boards don’t allow easy arranger control.
Fortunately you can get Livestyler www.live-styler.de which gives you a full arranger for your computer, and it can also use VSTi.
However before you make a decision, pop over to www.kvraudio.com (One of the best resources for VSTi) and read up a bit, that way you will then be able to determine what you actually require? (There are also some excellent free VSTi on the site)
Hope this helps

Bill
Posted by: Irishacts

Re: VSTi help - 05/30/09 07:46 AM