how to find what notes or chords work in a song

Posted by: Jared4781

how to find what notes or chords work in a song - 10/04/06 06:57 PM

hey, im really new to this whole music stuff. I was wondering, I produce remixes and wanted to know how do you find what notes or chords or whatever it might be call, im really not sure, would work in a song. thanks.
Posted by: Uncle Dave

Re: how to find what notes or chords work in a song - 10/04/06 07:40 PM

Wow, Jared .... you have a whole world of oportunity available to you , but you will need to learn at leat a FEW basics before you produce that first million seller that's in your head.

You'll need a few simple, theory lessons, and a working knowledge of scales and chords before you can assemble the raw notes into a meaningful arrangement.

Start with a do -re - mi scale. Ever see the movie, "The Sound OF Music" That's a great place to start.

Learn a few scales, then the chord names that go with each note in the scale, and you'll be ready to start experimenting!

Good luck !
Posted by: doc-z

Re: how to find what notes or chords work in a song - 10/05/06 05:04 AM

a great way for beginners is to use the circle of 5ths.

The circle of 5ths are all the 12 keys organised in a circle of 5th intervals. The way to use it is to choose a key, then the 5 chords next to it are the basic chords of the key.

For instance in the key of F, the basic chords are: F, Bb, C, Dm, Gm, and Am.

Here's the circle http://library.thinkquest.org/15413/media/images/circleof5ths.gif

Red ones are minor keys, and blue ones are major keys.

Doc-Z
Posted by: trident

Re: how to find what notes or chords work in a song - 10/05/06 05:48 AM

Doc-Z,
thanks for that... but i didn;t eactly relise how it works.....
so, using your example i move from F to C...that means thet the 5 chords surrounding C can be used next?
like F, G, Dm, Am, and Em?
that is gow it works?

Re: how to find what notes or chords work in a song - 10/05/06 05:43 PM