What Luck!!

Posted by: DonM

What Luck!! - 03/06/04 11:15 PM

As some of you know, I've been very busy lately, helping my mother and step-father move here from South Texas. LOTS of stuff do to that takes lots of time.
Anyway, tonight, I suppose because I've been distracted from taking care of business, I did something I've never done before.
I drove all the way to Longview, TX for a job, only to find out I was a week early.
I had failed to check my calendar but relied on memory.
Bad, huh?
Well, not so bad. I got there and the band that was scheduled for tonight had cancelled at the last minute. You got it, I got to work anyway!
Only bad thing was the 4-piece band that cancelled was booked for $50. less than I charge, so I played for their price.
. . . and I was glad to get it!
DonM
Posted by: Burkels

Re: What Luck!! - 03/07/04 12:19 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by DonM:
Only bad thing was the 4-piece band that cancelled was booked for $50. less than I charge, so I played for their price.
. . . and I was glad to get it!
DonM

Good you didn't drive all that way (I assume it was quite a drive, anyway ) for nothing. Although... Was the 4-piece band booked for 50 bucks? For how long? Is this a normal "fee" for live music over there? (If it is, you really should pack your bags and head to my country :-)

------------------
Roland EXR-5 user - http://www.exr5.tk
Posted by: rattley

Re: What Luck!! - 03/07/04 05:47 AM

sounds like a gig from the blues brothers???

"The band gets $50, but you owe me $300 for all the beer you drank!!"

Was there any chicken wire??
Posted by: travlin'easy

Re: What Luck!! - 03/07/04 06:04 AM

I sure wish you boys and girls would learn to read, write and spell. Don said the job paid $50 LESS THAN HE NORMALLY CHARGES!--NOT $50. Most of us in this biz would not load the equipment for $50.

Cheers,

Gary
Posted by: sk880user

Re: What Luck!! - 03/07/04 06:20 AM

DonM,