Advice on what to buy Yamaha or Roland

Posted by: Stephenm52

Advice on what to buy Yamaha or Roland - 04/22/05 08:49 AM

I'm considering buying either a Yamaha PSR 3000 or possibly a Roland G70. Seems to me that they are in 2 diffent classes in terms of price. I'm not sure about function?? Some of the decision is based on what I can sell a grand piano I own ,that I rarely play anymore. ( got to raise some extra cash first).

At home and it stays at home because it's too hard to transport to solo gigs is a Yamaha Clav CVP 107. If that were portable, I'd take that on gigs. And the story would end here.

Since I'm a pianist and prefer at least 76 keys. As a substitute until I found something I really like I bought a Casio Privia PXR-400 that I've been taking on my solo gigs. It does the job OK and for the price hard to beat. But I just am not crazy about the overall styles and the only good sounding voices are the some of the pianos, eps, organs and octave jazz guitar.

Any advice?

Thanks
Posted by: o3bor

Re: Advice on what to buy Yamaha or Roland - 04/22/05 08:54 AM

I strongly suggest G-70, especially for the keyboard quality and extension, unless you have a special preference for Yamaha styles/sounds over Roland ones.
Posted by: silva

Re: Advice on what to buy Yamaha or Roland - 04/22/05 09:19 AM

Hi Stephenm52,
Between Psr3000 and G.70, I also suggest G-70. But you have also Korg PA1X 76/61 keys (www.korgpa.com).

Franky

Re: Advice on what to buy Yamaha or Roland - 04/22/05 11:42 AM

I haven't checked out the Korg at this time. I did do an iquiry from a local music dealer about the Roland and when he started negative comments about the the G70 and talked up the Korg I got some bad vibes. So I haven't considered the Korg.
Posted by: manic2257

Re: Advice on what to buy Yamaha or Roland - 04/22/05 12:58 PM

check out something alternative to the "big 3", stephen...why not have a look at some of the General Music gear?? www.generalmusic.us

peace, out