Suggestions on Drum Modules

Posted by: WreckStep

Suggestions on Drum Modules - 07/02/99 10:56 AM

Hey, I've got a small home studio and I think that it's time that i graduated from drum loops and time to start programming my own. I'm looking for something decent for Drum n Bass and/or House/Garage. Someone had suggested the yamaha ry-30.. but I'm not possitive about anything yet.. any suggestions? i'd rather keep the price under $500.. keep in mind i'm not looking for an mpc2K or anthing.. just something a little simpler.. or.... should i forget about drum modules in general and get a something along the lines of an akai s20?
Posted by: 800dv

Re: Suggestions on Drum Modules - 07/11/99 02:10 AM

you might try to find a YAMAHA RX-5 , it was their flag ship drum machine in 1987. But don't let the age fool you , all sounds are editable and it has 12 individual outputs and it is very easy to figure out because all the job fuctions are labled on the machine. It's like having the manual on it . It can have a mean sound and they usually go for around 200$ , it also has MIDI in, out, and thru . Not many drum machines have that even today.
Posted by: Cinda Private

Re: Suggestions on Drum Modules - 07/14/99 07:33 AM

Hate to do this in a Yammie forum, but you may want to consider the Boss DR202. It has all the "commercial" drum kits ranging from traditional rock to industrial. From funk to trip-hop.

They sell for about $350 now
Posted by: pko

Re: Suggestions on Drum Modules - 07/14/99 08:30 AM

Hi,

You originating post suggests you have a sampler ? . If so I would suggest you stick with it. There is no reason to use loops (although nearly everyone producing this music does) and most samplers will allow the editing of drum samples to a greater extent than many drum macines.

Paul
Posted by: WreckStep

Re: Suggestions on Drum Modules - 07/14/99 02:28 PM