naughty KN7000

Posted by: Dave L.

naughty KN7000 - 08/27/12 02:49 AM

MY KN 7000 THAT I BOUGHT NEW 9 YEARS AGO HAS SUDDENLY REVERSED THE TECH AND MIDI MODES---KEYBOARD HAS NEVER HAD TO BE SERVICED---
WE HAVE INITIALISED IT [ACCORDING TO PAGE 197 OF OWNERS MANUAL] AS WELL AS THE FULL FACTORY INITIALISING
ANY TECH DISC OR SD CARDS SHOWS AND PLAYS AS MIDI --- EVERYTHING WANTS TO PLAY AT A SPEED OF 300.
ALSO THE FINGERED APC IS NOT AVAILABLE SO THE PLAYING CAN BE DISCORDED.
BY PUTTING IN THE ORIGINAL [INITIAL DATA DISK ] IT SHOWS IN THE SCREEN AS MIDI.
IF I PUT IN A MIDI FLOPPY IT SHOWS AND READS AS TECH SONG.

CAN ANYONE OUT THERE HELP ?-
I AM NEW TO SYNTH ZONE SO HOPE SOMEONE HAS AN ANSWER TO RECTIFY THE PROBLEM THAT MAKES THE K7 USELESS'
THE KN7000 IS CURRENTLY 1.4
IF WE INSTALL A 1.6 VERSION WOULD THAT IN ANY WAY HELP OR TOO BIG OF A RISK TO COMPLETELY CRASH THE KEYBOARD ?
DEMO SONGS IT PLAYS OK.

THANKS FROM DAVE L. [ IN NEW ZEALAND ]
Posted by: Bill Norrie

Re: naughty KN7000 - 08/27/12 03:50 AM

As I mentioned in my emails to you Dave, I hope that Alec may read your post and possibly offer some advice.

It does sound like a corrupted Operating System, rather than a hardware problem so the solution would seem to be to replace / upgrade.

Re: naughty KN7000 - 08/29/12 09:06 PM

Hello again,

Are you able to initialise the Midi department in KN7000 ?
The Manual says normal initialising does not include the Midi [page 197 of manual ]
Our keyboard as described in the above explanation problems states that the TECH and MIDI options have reversed

The factory INITIAL DATA DISK when put in the KN7000 shows up as midi which must be wrong

Dave L.
Posted by: Bill Norrie

Re: naughty KN7000 - 08/30/12 01:39 AM

Hi Dave,
It is indeed possible to Initialise the MIDI settings, but doing so, will only reset the MIDI parameters back to their default condition. If you wish to try, just follow the procedure on Page 197 but select 'MIDI SETTING' instead of 'PERFORMANCE'.