updat kn7000 1.5

Posted by: Alain

updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 03:56 AM

Hello,

There is an update available for the kn 7000 , namely version 1.5.
It is available at : http://www.kn7000.de/ under the topic service.
The site is in German. They provide already the second update ....version 1.4 and now 1.5.
Strange it's only them that are providing these updates.

Greetings from Belgium,
Alain

[This message has been edited by Alain (edited 07-31-2003).]
Posted by: Bill Norrie

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 04:53 AM

As far as I am aware, the 1.4 update was mainly concerned with modifications to the German language section of the software, so maybe Version 1.5 is a similar update. I would certainly not apply any software updates to my KN7000, until they appear on the official Technics KN7000 website and at present, there are no ROM updates posted. So far, I have not noticed any defects in the operating system - "If it ain't broke - don't fix it"

------------------
Willum
Posted by: Douglas Dean

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 06:24 AM

And if that isn't a peice of excellant advice I never heard one.

Grandpa Doug
Posted by: BEBOP

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 08:43 AM

My new KN7000 that I got earlier this month from new inventory is version 1.4
Bebop
Posted by: Mike ORegan

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 08:45 AM

Update 1.5 is nothing to do with the German language but corrects some important "bugs" as follows:
1. Bitmap pics for HOME page can now be selected.
2. SD-Card "%age free" is now corrected
3. Drum Track with transposed files corrected for use with MIDI out.
4. Audio files on SD-Card are all now recognised.
5. The SD-Card Control File will no longer be corrupted
6. Corrections to Technichords which either don't work or produce the wrong results e.g. "add9", "madd9"
I am upgrading MY 7000 - what about you??
Mike O'R
Posted by: cees

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 09:00 AM

Hi Mike,
thanks for your info. That's one of the profits of this forum, two know more than one .
Please, may I ask the 'source' of your well-informed reply on the Rom-update?
Best regards,
Cees
Posted by: Mike ORegan

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 09:28 AM

Hi Cees,
I am informed by Taiyo whenever there is an upgrade and their website has full details. BTW, I just upgraded my 7000 - no problem, took around 5 minutes (it will take slightly longer for those who didn't upgrade to 1.4)
Mike O'R
Posted by: Walt Meyer

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 05:30 PM

I too have just upgraded to ver 1.5 without problems.
I have had my .INF file corrupted in the past with Ver 1.3 (Load song, get wrong song) and to my knowledge, I did nothing wrong. I trust that now this will not happen again.
DON'T FORGET to back up your SD Card, I'm sure glad that I did.
Walt

[This message has been edited by Walt Meyer (edited 07-31-2003).]
Posted by: Bill Norrie

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 06:01 PM

After posting earlier on this thread, I contacted Christian Abel and asked for details of the upgrade and he kindly emailed me by return. The content of his email is just the same as that, in Mike O'Regan's post.
I await details of Version 1.4 and have asked his permission to publish them on this Forum.
The strange thing is, that the bugs which Version 1.5 addresses, are obviously fundamental to the KN7000 operating system, so why have they been corrected by a third party and not Technics? Furthermore, why do the updates not appear on the Official KN7000 website? Where are you Chris ??

------------------
Willum
Posted by: AnthonyCian

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 06:54 PM

Ok, I just got to ask this. What key sequence does one use to get the version information?

Not particular, KN or PR models doesn't matter, I'll try them all. Just curious as to know how one knows what version they have.

Thanks, Anthony
Posted by: BEBOP

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 07:19 PM

Hold down the three piano, guitar, and mallet sound group buttons and switch on the power to the keyboard. The version number will be shown in the screen along with the video output mode that hs been set.
This is excerpted from Getting the most from your KN7000 authored by Alec Pagida.
Everything you will probably want to know and is not in your KN7000 manual is to be found in this companion manual. I highly suggest you buy it. I think Technote has it. I bought mine from Walt Tenay in US.
Best to all
Bebop
Posted by: rikkisbears

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 07/31/03 09:01 PM

Hi,
if there's anyone who want's to read what it actually says on the site, I sometimes use this free translation program. It will give you a rough idea. Translation is German to english. Just make sure you just use the free one. Not perfect but it least you can get around the site.
http://ets.freetranslation.com/

Alec's book actually has full instructions on how to do updates. I just followed them all very carefully, especially the one about checking your disks before actually doing the update.
It was a fairly simple procedure when following Alec's instructions, nevertheless still a worrying few minutes , just in case something went wrong. I'm a bit of a worry wart.
Never so glad to see the welcoming screen pop back up.
Tis strange the English KN site doesn't have the update.
best wishes
Rikki

[This message has been edited by rikkisbears (edited 07-31-2003).]

[This message has been edited by rikkisbears (edited 07-31-2003).]
Posted by: Mike ORegan

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 12:00 AM

Important info for those doing upgrade 1.4 and 1.5 at the same time:
The upgrade files are numbered 1 to 4, but the files 3 and 4 (1.4 upgrade) should be used FIRST, then 1 and 2. You will notice by the file names that disks 3 and 4 are the ones for the 1.4 upgrade and 1 and 2 for the 1.5 upgrade. The Taiyo site who originated the files do not give this instruction. If you have already installed 1.4 then only disks 1 and 2 need to be used.
Mike O'R
Posted by: waterschip

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 02:03 AM

[QUOTE]
I await details of Version 1.4 and have asked his permission to publish them on this Forum.
/QUOTE]

Maybe those who not needed the German luangage can wait for the details of version 1.4.
Maybe you can upgrade at once with version 1.5.

rgds.
Willem
Posted by: KeithB

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 03:08 AM

Hi,
What are the consequences of installing Disks 3&4(Update 1.4)not in the order you are suggesting? I installed ex the German site,in the 1, 2,3,4 order. Seems to work so far, but should I anticipate any horrors?
I should add I originally downloaded the four disks from the English site but Disk 4 showed errors when checked on the keyboard, so I went german as above.
regards
Keith

Quote:
Originally posted by Mike ORegan:
Important info for those doing upgrade 1.4 and 1.5 at the same time:
The upgrade files are numbered 1 to 4, but the files 3 and 4 (1.4 upgrade) should be used FIRST, then 1 and 2. You will notice by the file names that disks 3 and 4 are the ones for the 1.4 upgrade and 1 and 2 for the 1.5 upgrade. The Taiyo site who originated the files do not give this instruction. If you have already installed 1.4 then only disks 1 and 2 need to be used.
Mike O'R
Posted by: Bill Norrie

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 03:17 AM

I have received a reply from www.kn7000.de
Quote : "1.4 corrected some German lyrics in the display and some other systembugs"
I've emailed Chris Whithead at Technics UK and await his response.


------------------
Willum
Posted by: RMepstead

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 03:29 AM

Just another small thought from a non-german speaking european - does the update cause any part of my beloved KN7000 to start conversing with me on the display panel in the german language - I have enough trouble reading the screen when I am playing in the open air as it is without guessing/ translating 'roughly' from another language!!!
Do you all speak the same language in America!!!!
Roger M
Posted by: Walt Meyer

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 06:00 AM

From Mike's post:
<<<"The upgrade files are numbered 1 to 4, but the files 3 and 4 (1.4 upgrade) should be used FIRST, then 1 and 2.>>>"

I did the 1.4 upgrade first (disks 3 & 4) and then checked for the version number -- it still said ver 1.3
Then, after applying disks 1 & 2, the version changed to 1.5
Anyone else experience this? At this point I'm not sure whether or not 1.4 ever got installed. The keyboard seems to work fine.
Sort of frightening!
Walt

[This message has been edited by Walt Meyer (edited 08-01-2003).]
Posted by: Bill Norrie

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 06:55 AM

I have received a speedy reply from Chris Whithead at Technics UK and post it's content, with his permission, below.

"Hi Bill,

We have been waiting for version 1.5 to be completed so we can issue it on
the Technicskn7000.com website. If Tayio music (which is a German
Distributor for Technics) want to release this at this time that is up to
them, however it is worth noting that if we get keyboards in the UK with
problems because of Version 1.5 before it has been released in the UK we
will not support it.

Version 1.5 will be on the ROM Updates page in the near future as a ZIP
file containing instructions on how to make the Disks and upgrade the
KN7000.

If you can let your fellow synthzone members know this, it would be
appreciated. Can you also let synth zone members know if they have any
question that can not be answered on your group that are in the UK, to
contact myself at this address at chris.whitehead@panasonic.co.uk

Best Regards
Chris Whitehead "

End of Quote


------------------
Willum
Posted by: Walt Meyer

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 07:51 AM

Bill,
If you have occaison to have more conversation with Chris Whitehead, you might inquire as to what they have been doing to correct the german keyboards with version 1.5
For those of us who have already installed 1.5 from Taiyo, we may need help.
Also point out that it is because of Technics not communicating adequately about updating, that we have elected to use the Taiyo 1.5
Technics had suggested to wait and see if it would be posted on the Technics site, but never said that they were actively persuing the project and have not given any indication of how, what, where, or if it would actually happen.
Poor communication can cause lots of problems.
Walt
Posted by: waterschip

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 08:09 AM

What has Technics UK do more than the German distributor.

check the updates with the information they got from Technics Japan?
So the have to know what systems bugs are updated. (The German site give that information by the way)

If that is the case than it would be strange while never got any information in the past by every update even when members of synthzone asked for it.

How can they check you are using the UK update or the German update. I think the update disks still coming from Japan and they distribute it to their main distributors.

rgds.
Willem


[This message has been edited by waterschip (edited 08-01-2003).]

[This message has been edited by waterschip (edited 08-01-2003).]
Posted by: Mike ORegan

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 12:14 PM

Curiouser and curiouser!! Technics UK, if I remember rightly, promised to "look into" Upgrade 1.4, many moons ago. What happened? And why do we have to drag this information out of them? If Upgrades are sequential, then surely they should be now have issued Version 1.4 (even if it did only apply to German Help files). Finally, why all the secrecy about just WHAT upgrades do? If Taiyo can make the information available, why not Technics UK? We seem to have trodden this path before!!!
Mike O'R
Posted by: Walt Meyer

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 12:25 PM

Mike,
As you can see from my previous post (Re: Update and Service) , same thing in the US.
Walt
Posted by: Douglas Dean

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 01:22 PM

Patience is a virtue. Not too many virtuous souls out there I see.

Grandpa Doug
Posted by: lahawk

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 04:31 PM

So the question remains "If my keyboard is working fine and I'm happy with it, should I upgrade" ?

Larry Hawk
Posted by: Douglas Dean

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 06:18 PM

Larry the way I look at it is not that whether I should upgrade if I am happy with my KN but rather I should upgrade when TECHNICS is happy with their upgrade. Frankly I donít understand why some get so upset and impatient. Man, my keyboard with 1.3 OS works great as is! So what if they donít see fit to inform us of the name of every little tweaking they do. Every board I ever bought worked dog gone good from the day I had it and I always had of the first group to be released in the Chicago land area. Some of them had up to ten updates to fix some things but nothing major. Can you imagine, almost a full year has gone by and it never dawned on me that anything needed to be fixed. That might be some kind of a record with keyboards. I think the 6000 had the most problems but that was a major design change and could almost be expected to have some tweaking done to it. Nothing too earth shaking, for me at least. Itís my personal opinion that as we grow a little fatter when we get older, us human males donít upgrade our underwear size to keep up with the expansion. That leads to very tight shorts and tends to make the male a tad bit testy and irritable leading to dissatisfaction of the way others do things. You know, not updating fast enough and not telling them what's in the update. First things first. Update the skivvies and whatís in them will be much more happy and contented. This seems to me a good place to start and Iím sure by that time, technics will take care of their end. End? My oh my!

Grandpa Doug
Posted by: AnthonyCian

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/01/03 07:04 PM

Thanks Bebop for the info on how to bring up the version number. But it's different on the PR804, doesn't surprise me.

I'm assuming on the KN7000 the piano, guitar and Mallet sound groups are the first top 3 buttons for the groups. I tried that pattern and it worked. PR804 buttons are, String; Brass; Sax&Woodwind.

Anthony
Posted by: Mike ORegan

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/03/03 01:28 AM

The whole point of putting the operating system on a flash EPROM is to enable the USER to EASILY keep up with improvements. If we all adapted the attitude of some members, we would be still driving Model Ts!! Now think of this point. Should you, at some future date, decide to swap your keyboard for the latest offering (we have ALL done it sometime!!) then you just might be asked whether your old one is up to speed, uprgrade-wise. Have you ever tried to sell a computer running Windows 95 (or even CPM-86)? No-one wants to know. Of course if you are keeping your lovely keyboard until it qualifies for the Antiques Roadshow, and you don't mind having a slightly lame one, then fine
Mike O'R
Posted by: Bill Norrie

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/03/03 03:45 AM

Mike, I think you have missed the point The only reason I will not apply the update is that it has not yet been sanctioned by Technics. I don't know where the upgrades in question originated therefore I will not take the chance of deliberately corrupting my keyboard's firmware. Would you apply an unauthorised, non-manufacturer modification to your top of the range car and take the chance of the engine crashing out in the middle of nowhere ?
I'm happy to wait for the official 'Nod of Approval' from Technics and not worried about being Bang-up-to-date. After all, my KN7000 appears to be working perfectly well.......

------------------
Willum
Posted by: Mike ORegan

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/03/03 05:44 AM

Hi Bill,
I don't think I missed the point. Upgrades 1.4 and 1.5 are TECHNICS upgrades - not instigated by Taiyo. So, if you buy a new 7000 now, as Bebob has done, it will be Version 1.4. Let me say that, having spoken to several UK Technics Dealers, I have gathered that, for their own reasons, Technics UK are very reluctant (and have been in the past) to release ANY update information. At least a modern update does not involve dismantling the instrument then prising out EPROMs and replacing them (which I have done in the past).
Mike O'R
Posted by: Chuck Piper

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/03/03 05:45 AM

Hi Bill and Mike,

I want to echo your comments, Bill. I was going to add my thoughts earlier this morning to Mike's remarks, but decided not to respond. Your good sense to wait until you have a Technics approved version of an update is wise. Third party updates are not always the panacea they purport to be. They may in fact introduce new bugs. If you wait for the Technics update and install it and you have problems, you have recourse to Technics to fix it. As Chris said, Technics will not honor a warranty when the owner has installed software that has been developed by a third party.

As for Mike's remarks about having problems part exchanging a keyboard that has not been updated, I seriously doubt any dealer is going to tell a prospective customer he will not do a deal because the latest software update is not installed. He'll sell the keyboard and install the update himself, or more likely, sell the old keyboard "as is" since it is working fine anyway.

And as for the remarks about selling a computer, I am like a lot of people. If something meets my needs, why get rid of it? Hence, I am running a four-year old computer with Windows 95 and am very happy with it. I also have a three-year old KN6000 and am happy with it as well. I will likely buy the next generation Technics flagship keyboard, but only if it has been significantly upgraded from the KN7000. Otherwise, I will buy a KN7000 at a much reduced price and be happy.

I am not one that has to have the "latest and greatest". I pick and choose what I want based on goals and needs. Just a little bit of wisdom I picked up along life's way over the past 73 years.

Chuck

[This message has been edited by Chuck Piper (edited 08-03-2003).]
Posted by: lahawk

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/03/03 10:39 AM

So the upgrade does the following:
(as per Mike O'R's post),

1. Bitmap pics for HOME page can now be selected.
2. SD-Card "%age free" is now corrected
3. Drum Track with transposed files corrected for use with MIDI out.
4. Audio files on SD-Card are all now recognised.
5. The SD-Card Control File will no longer be corrupted
6. Corrections to Technichords which either don't work or produce the wrong results e.g. "add9", "madd9"
I am upgrading MY 7000 - what about you??
Mike O'R

My answer: I had zero problems with any of that, do you ? That's why I'm not upgrading.

Larry Hawk
Posted by: Walt Meyer

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/03/03 01:43 PM

Larry,
I've had my .INF SD Card control file corrupted two times. With over 100 tailored setups on the card, it would have been disaster if I hadn't had good up-to-date backups.
This was enough to cause me to update. I just hope that it corrects the problem as promised. Time will only tell.
Walt
Posted by: LeonB

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/03/03 02:22 PM

Hallo all,

my K7 has 1,3 version and I am very satisfied with it.
While I was reading this text I wish to update my "darling".
And I did it.
I was following instructions and finished it succesfuly.
(first V 1,4 and V 1,5) My K7 now works good without any problems.
As it was said before, differences are not so important for playing music.

My opinion. If procedure is correctly done, you can get more with a few effort.
I understand all who have distrust for update but don't understand Panasonic UK.
Why don't they test new update and say if it is good or not and absolve this dilemma?

Best regards from Leon !
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/04/03 03:50 AM

All the talk of updates centers of the UK.
I have e-mailed Eddie Williams, Panasonic USA. He has been very helpful to me in the past. When I get a response I will share it with the forum.

Fran in Florida
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/08/03 05:15 AM

I received the following regarding the 1.5 update. Will follow up with a phone call today.

Fran in Florida

--------------------------------------------

Dear Fran Durham,



Taiyo Music simply got the update ahead of the US. I have the 1.5 operating system upgrade at my office. I cannot monitor the Synthzone Forum because our office machines are blocked from chat rooms. I am glad in a way. If you need specifics give me a call.



Eddie



Eddie Williams/Technics Musical Instruments

Technical Service Representative III

Panasonic Customer Call Center

661 Independence Parkway

Chesapeake, Va. 23320

1-800-726-8863 option 3

williamse@panasonic.com



-----Original Message-----
From: Fran Durham [mailto:margnfran@cfl.rr.com]
Sent: Monday, August 04, 2003 7:02 AM
To: Musicalinstruments
Subject: Fw: 7000 Update





----- Original Message -----



From: Fran Durham

To: musicalinstruments@technicsusa.com

Sent: Monday, August 04, 2003 6:45 AM

Subject: 7000 Update



Eddie,



You were very helpful to me with my 6000 several years ago and I am asking for some help again.



I am sure you follow the Technics Forum on Synth Zone.



The controversy about the updates for the 7000 coming from Taiyo and not Panasonic UK or USA is interesting. I would appreciate input from you on why Panasonic USA has not come forth with the update that was supposedly created in Japan factory. Is it safe to use the Taiyo Updates?



thanks,



Fran (in Florida) Durham



Ps...Good to see the article about you in Tech Plus Club Magazine. Nice to see who you talk or write to
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: updat kn7000 1.5 - 08/08/03 10:04 AM

Spoke to Eddie Williams this morning. Mike ORegan's explanation of the 1.5 content is exactly what Eddie repeated to me.

The distribution of the 1.5 follows the same pattern as the introduction of 7000. U.S. last to know.

For 7000 owners in the U.S. he suggests you call him and he will send the 1.5 disks as it is possible on downloads to get a glitch that could cause problems. He is sending mine.

Panasonic USA does not list its Keyboard Dealers on their site, because the Dealers do not want to be listed in order to protect their territory and do not want to be undersold by someone out of state. Bebop understands this.

If you have a problem, contact Eddie. I am sure Eddie will do his best to correct it.

Fran in Florida