Question about WK2 keyboard

Posted by: sk880user

Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/20/03 11:07 AM

Sometimes, I play WK2 keyboard that is in church. I wonder if there is a way to do the following:

Basically, I select a style. Adjust the volumes of all parts of the styles. Then I select another style. ALL volumes adjustments are lost.

HOw can I make sure that when switching to another style, I will not lose the volume settings? I am not switching live. I am switching while the styles is stopped.

Thanks.
Posted by: George Kaye

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/20/03 09:21 PM

sk880 user,
You can either copy the style to a user style and it will store the changes you make or you can make your changes and then store these as a performance. There are I believe 63 or 64 performance locations.
George Kaye
Kaye's Music Scene
Reseda, California
Posted by: sk880user

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/20/03 11:28 PM

George,

Thanks. I will try this this coming weekend.
Posted by: sk880user

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/23/03 06:36 PM

I have tried to go with the keyboard and here is the problem:

1) I select style 01
2) I spend time to adjust the volume of each track or component of that style.
3) I save the style in one of the style registration banks.
4) I select a different style: 02
5) the volumes return to the default 02

What I want to do is simply the following:

1) Select style
2) Adjust volumes
3) select as many styles as possible
4) volumes stay constant regardless of what style I select.

The problem is that this is not my personal keyboard. But I use it in the weekend sometimes and this truly frustrates me.
Posted by: to the genesys

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/23/03 07:27 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by sk880user:
I have tried to go with the keyboard and here is the problem:

1) I select style 01
2) I spend time to adjust the volume of each track or component of that style.
3) I save the style in one of the style registration banks.
4) I select a different style: 02
5) the volumes return to the default 02

What I want to do is simply the following:

1) Select style
2) Adjust volumes
3) select as many styles as possible
4) volumes stay constant regardless of what style I select.

The problem is that this is not my personal keyboard. But I use it in the weekend sometimes and this truly frustrates me.


is there a mixer lock button on that keyboard? If so you can try that
Posted by: sk880user

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/24/03 09:45 AM

Well, that is the reason my I asking for help. I need to know if there is a "mixing" button or something equivalent.

Does anybody know?
Posted by: Chris A

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/26/03 10:19 AM

The MIDI Arranger versions (WK2-in-a-box) have the "Mixer Lock" function available in the General menu. However, the keyboard version did not offer this function. What I cannot be certain of is whether this function was added to the keyboard version in a later o.s release (since the module was designed some time after). Perhaps if you update the o.s you will find that this function is available. Maybe Paul D can find out for sure.
Posted by: sk880user

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/26/03 01:51 PM

Chris,

Thanks.

I just downloaded the manual and the keyboard has the following locks:

1) Style lock
2) Tempo lock
3) Chord lock

None does the mixer lock function. The keyboard is WK2 oriental without harddrive.

So I hope that a mixer lock was added.

Paul,
Do you have info about this?

Thanks
Posted by: Chris A

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/26/03 03:34 PM

I have the WK2 oriental arranger (midi module) right here in front of me and it definitely does have the mixer lock function. Since the keyboard you're using is also an oriental, there's a good chance that this has it too (the Oriental designers often added extra features that were not on the "western" models).

You should find it in the GENERAL edit menu, after Microtuning. Unfortunately my WK2 Oriental keyboard is packed away somewhere hard to reach so you'll have to confirm this for yourself the next time you get your hands on the instrument. The edit menus are accessed by moving the cursor along the left side of the screen. Then use the right cursor button to page through the contents of each menu.
Posted by: sk880user

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/27/03 07:32 AM

Chris,

Thanks. I will try it this weekend and I will report back. Also, I will make sure the lastest OS is burned.
Posted by: sk880user

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/29/03 04:18 PM

Chris A,

Thanks. I found the mixer lock which is found in general Midi as you said. I tried it and it works.
Posted by: Chris A

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 11/30/03 10:58 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by sk880user:
Chris A,

Thanks. I found the mixer lock which is found in general Midi as you said. I tried it and it works.


I love a happy ending
Posted by: Mike ORegan

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 12/06/03 02:56 AM

Have you tried switching OFF the GLOBAL button (in the middle, under the display). If this is switched ON, then a change of Style will revert to its GLOBAL setting. This is also true if you simply use the STOP/START button during playing.
Once you have all the instruments and volumes to your satisfaction, then SAVE as a new USER GLOBAL.
Posted by: sk880user

Re: Question about WK2 keyboard - 12/07/03 05:53 AM

Mike,

There is no global button under the display. However, there is a mixer lock that worked.