Not to repeat myself...About synth bass.

Posted by: eltico

Not to repeat myself...About synth bass. - 06/20/07 12:30 PM

I think I finally have the question I've been meaning to ask all along. I'm new to synthesizers in general. I don't think I want to mess with a vintage synth, because I wouldn't know how to maintain it. Anyway, is there a company, any company at all, that makes a NEW synth specifically for bass? The newest I've found is the Novation Bass Station, but even those are hard to come by. Any help would be greatly appreciated, and then I promise to drop this subject. Thanks.
Posted by: Justin Gazda

Re: Not to repeat myself...About synth bass. - 06/20/07 01:51 PM

The Basstation is from 1994, built out of late 70's technology, and I have one. It doesn't work, and novation will not release the schematics to me. Fortunatley I know how to fix it.

So perhaps you should get a new synth. I would get a something from Clavia. They seem to be the most serious about what they make, and it shows in the sound quality.

[This message has been edited by Justin Gazda (edited 06-20-2007).]
Posted by: 3351

Re: Not to repeat myself...About synth bass. - 06/20/07 09:14 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by eltico:
I think I finally have the question I've been meaning to ask all along. I'm new to synthesizers in general. I don't think I want to mess with a vintage synth, because I wouldn't know how to maintain it. Anyway, is there a company, any company at all, that makes a NEW synth specifically for bass? The newest I've found is the Novation Bass Station, but even those are hard to come by. Any help would be greatly appreciated, and then I promise to drop this subject. Thanks.

Nothing bass specific comes to mind either than some software synths. ON one hand those would be cheaper to get a hold of but on the other you'll need to invest in an audio card, some RAM and most important of all you'll need a CPU from hell. With Arturia stuff anyway.