Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#194067 - 02/09/06 06:56 PM Buying my first keyboard
retal Offline

Loc: Tel-aviv, Israel
Hi everyone,
I'm kinda new here
i've sit now for hour and half, reading some last time posts about keyboards and so on.

I'm new to keyboards at all, i wanna learn how to play but i take it seriously because i really love it and always had just couldn't efford it.

So basically i'm having doubts between:
* PSR-3000 (my main choice) - heard its easy keyboard to use (like a all-in-one tool)
* Roland Fantom X6/X7/X8
* Roland G-70

i would be very happy if the PSR-3000 was 88-key (like RD-700SX)

few reasons why i started thinking about the Roland Fantom/G-70 because its upgradeable got this SRX slots, also got better "style and looks" and it has more keys(X7/X8/G-70)
also looks like roland has abit more expirience with keyboards than yamaha which looks abit kiddie...

anyway, im really new to this so ill be really happy to get some tips from pro's to "arrange my brain"

Thanks in advance

#194068 - 02/10/06 01:48 AM Re: Buying my first keyboard
to the genesys Offline

If you are really wanting to play and play well with good technique, and price is not a problem, the G70 will be a very good choice. It has 76 keys and the keyfeel is good for serious playing IMO. It has alot of sounds and styles that could serve you well as you start off and if you ever want to gig, you could still use it.

The PSR 3000
(or any other 61 key keyboard with a keyfeel that is not very good) is good for experienced players who are not concerned with playing technique but just the economics of their situation. The PSR 3000 is a good entertainment tool for just playing 1, 2 or 3 fingered chords in the left and a simple melody in the right (and there is nothing wrong with that).