SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#108430 - 02/13/04 03:52 PM Does learning the piano make a better arranger player?
dazart Offline

Loc: England
Hi all,
I started playing keys on an arranger 9 years ago and having no music experience before hand.
After about 4 years learning the arranger mostly from written music I started to slow down in my skill level and didnt seem to get alot better after.
2 years ago I decided to start learning the piano and started to read the bass cleff.I didnt really play much on an arranger until now and I have found that I am way more advanced at playing an arranger now and find it very easy to improvise around the music only having to read the treble cleff.

It seems whilst I continue to learn the piano I have to practice very robotic and strict playing techniques but when playing on the arranger I let myself go and play with ease,if you know what I mean.

Did most of the proes come from playing pianos and organs in the arranger buisness or were they just good vocalists who didnt neet to much keyboard playing skill?

Regards,
Daz

#108431 - 02/13/04 04:24 PM Re: Does learning the piano make a better arranger player?
Scottyee Offline

Loc: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, US...
Hi Daz, as a vocal-keyboard entertainer I'd say that having started formal piano lessons at 4 gave me a big edge in making keyboard playing feel second nature, like walking, but like anything else, if you don't continually use whatever skills you've developed, you'll eventually lose it. I embarassingly have to admit that I've regretably lost most of the classical chops I once had.

On the topic of arranger vs solo piano/keyboard: They are different instruments requiring uniquely different skills to sound good. My childhood music teacher once told me "the piano (keyboard) is perhaps the easiest instrument to grasp the 'basics' of music with, but the most difficult to 'master'.

Scott