SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#92797 - 12/25/99 06:06 PM Auto-Accompaniment Keyboards
Shmuel Goldstein Offline

Loc: Minneapolis, MN USA
Since I'm new to all you out there, you'll probably notice that I'm a bit of a novice. I have been using a Yamaha PSR-500 for the past 6 or so years now and am ready to upgrade to a much better machine. The reason why is, that I have yet to be able to do a bulk-dump of all my recorded songs to my Mac, and the people at Yamaha are apparently no more knowledgeable than I am because they have yet to be able to help me out. If any one who could help me with this stuff that would be great!
Now for what I'm really looking for...
• Ability to internally record and play at least 20 songs with out a gap between songs (like the PSR-500 does) The folks at Yamaha say that their newer keyboards don't.
• The ability to loop (play a song continuosly like the PSR-500 can do)
• Ability to expand to more "styles" in the accompaniment via Internet or other.
• Able to back up on to computer the songs including accompaniment (Built in disk drive a plus)
Right now I'm looking into the Roland
EM-2000 and have even gotten a chance to play it a little. I have tried to sit down at the store with the manual to figure it out. It seems as if the learning curve for this synth is pretty high. If anyone out there knows about this machine or OTHERS that might be able to accomplish the above I would truly be grateful!
By the way the people at Yamaha have told me that their keyboards (even the PSR-9000?) don't do what my PSR-500 does!??? How odd!!
Any comments from those PSR-9000 fans out there? Also I have checked into the X1 and it looks great, but how heavy is it?

Thanks to all you out there.

[This message has been edited by Shmuel Goldstein (edited 12-25-1999).]

#92798 - 01/18/00 07:48 PM Re: Auto-Accompaniment Keyboards
George Garrett Offline

Loc: Victoria.B.C. Canada
Hi Shmuel,