SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#72833 - 04/15/00 03:24 PM YamahaA5000/4000 vs. E-MU 6400 Ultra
MV Offline

I am new to the world of samplers and will be purchasing my first sampler soon. I am familiar with the specs, options, and upgrades of each, I'm just confused on what way to go.

I know the Yamaha has an impressive array of effects, and the ability to read many file types. (Does this all work well?) However, It does not have auto looping. Is it difficult to get an accurate clean, precise in-time loop without auto looping? I know the e-mu does auto loop as well as beat munging the the yamaha does some cool stuff with beats as well.

I do a lot of scoring and want a nice pallette of sounds, but I also want a tight, precise machine that works well for me when I occassionally play with the drum loops.

I would appreciate anyone who has information and expereince with these machines giving me their opinions.

Thanks MV

#72834 - 04/20/00 03:46 AM Re: YamahaA5000/4000 vs. E-MU 6400 Ultra
Korgasm Offline

Loc: Australia
I find it highly unbelievable that the A5000 doesn't offer any kind of auto looping! Are you sure about this???? Every other sampler seems to offer this now!!!!! Even the inferior Korg Triton sampler (I own this!).

With regards comparisons- these are 2 very different sampling machines!

They are 2 very powerful machines in their own right- both offer powerful filtering systems but the Yamaha definetly wins out in terms of effects quality and quantity.

Both can be expanded up to 128MB or RAM and 128 notes of polyphony which is nice!

To me, the Yamaha looks a bit simpler to operate than the Emu but give both a try for yourself as they are both very deep machines.

The Yamaha offers direct CD burning from the sampler- The Emu doesn't have this feature (not yet anyway!).

However, I think that the Emu's DSP functions are more comprehensive than Yamaha's.