SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#71375 - 04/22/99 12:27 PM SW1000XG Questions
Lionel Hutz Offline

Loc: Oakland, CA USA
I'm pretty new to making music on my computer, and after reading an excellent debate on the merits of the sw1000xg versus the SBLive, I'm pretty convinced that the yamaha is the way to go. However, i still have some questions. I do a lot of work with ACID. Do the effects on the sw1000xg work on wav files or only on midi? If they do work on wav files, is it possible to use a controller like the Keyfax Phatboy to adjust effect parameters in real time (for example, increasing and decreasing the delay on a certain channel, dub style)? Really any advice or discussion around the use of this card would be helpful. The people at yamaha are useless, someone there even told me that the card doesn't have a MIDI port. Also if anyone knows where to find this card for less than $530 American (guitar center price) let me know! Thanks for reading---please reply!

#71376 - 04/23/99 10:12 AM Re: SW1000XG Questions
RobMan Offline

Loc: UK
SW1000XG can apply effects to any sound that it is producing - wav, midi whatever. There are restrictions though, that I haven't quite got my head round yet. e.g when you use midi, you can apply individual (and different) levels of chorus, reverb etc. to each and every channel. When it comes to your channels of stereo audio, you have insertion effects and variation effects. From my understanding you set the insertion effect to one of the dozens of effects (e.g. phaser) and you set the variation to another effect (e.g. celeste). Then, insertion can be applied to ANY audio channel (e.g. your .wav file being played), and the variation can be applied to (I think) a couple of channels. If anyone knows more on this, please post.

As far as I know, the knobs on the Keyfax Phatboy can ONLY affect MIDI signals. Midi is completely seperate from the playback of audio wav files, so it wouldn't work.