SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#45327 - 02/03/02 12:50 PM Movie Magic - 15 New Songs For You
Frank Bez Offline

Loc: Avila Beach, CA, U.S.A.
Dear Friends,

So many of you have posed very fascinating questions to me regarding putting a song together. Then recently Ted Rose brought the matter up again on this forum. So, I’m going to open up a decision about how to approach arranging a song that you can play live. One that might sound rather close to a multi track recording that the pros do. You need to understand my point of view is that of a 71 year old, self taught, one finger chord player who needs all the technical help that the keyboard can provide.

Together, we will look at fifteen songs derived from the movies, which I have sequenced. If you play the KN6000, e-mail me at: frankbez@aol.com
I will send you the files. While we take some time to get ready, here are the steps I take in building every arrangement I do.

STEP ONE
Know where you want to end up with your song. Whether you swing or you rock out, if you know how the song ends you can find an interesting way to get through it.

STEP TWO
Consider some of the rhythms that you don’t normally use. Look for some twists and turns as you lead the listener down the garden path. Follow Bob Hendershot’s advise and copy the styles you want to use into the Composer. As a result, you will be able to easily change some parts and the panning positions. In addition the arrangement will very likely play in the next generation instrument.

STEP THREE
Look for the Right Hand voices that tell the story of the song. The Sound Explorer is a great resource and will automatically set the appropriate effects settings for the selected voice. Try to move back and forth between using Technichord and not. A simple solo voice brings a nice relief after listening to those big fat chords.

STEP FOUR