SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#37780 - 10/17/01 12:07 PM I'm new at this
kristie-strange Offline

Loc: Mansfield, PA, USA
HI. I'm pretty new at this synth stuff. I've owned my Yamaha EX-5 for over a year, but just used it for jamming..sound fx (organs, pianos, clavs etc.) But I'm really into rave music and have been working on a song. The only recording equipment I have is a four track I borrowed from a friend (poor college student/musician). In my opinion, I think that I won't be able to record on it becuase it doesn't have enough tracks. What should I do?? What would be my best best for recording this song?

"I am Jack's complete lack of suprise."

~Fight Club~

#37781 - 10/17/01 03:17 PM Re: I'm new at this
greg66666 Offline

Loc: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Somebody replied in another of your posts to go to Harmony Central and read up on basics. That was good advice. The first lesson is to concentrate on Sequencers and MIDI because if you aren't using the EX-5's sequencer you're wasting 70% of the Yamaha's potential. If you have an EX-5 you already have more than 4 tracks for all practical purposes. It has a 16 track sequencer. Learn how to use the sequencer well. Though sequencer tracks arent' audio tracks, each sequencer track can play a different "instrument" just as if you were recording an instrument on an audio multitrack. If you fill up all the tracks on your sequencer and record it to one track of your 4 track it's just like you had recorded on a 16 track audio multitracker. Read up on the basics of sequencers and then read the EX-5 manual on the particulars of your machine. That should serve you well especially in the style of music you like.

#37782 - 10/17/01 06:47 PM Re: I'm new at this
kristie-strange Offline