SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#5380 - 12/30/04 08:14 PM Help?
Trek Offline

Loc: Naples, Fl, USA
Ok, today I bought a Yamaha Midi Interface cord connector to link my PC and my Casio. I didn't look at the product until I got home and that was when I noticed it was Yamaha. Will my Casio WK 3000 work with this? On eof the lights on the chord was on (for the driver) so I think it will.

So, I am fairly new at this. I connect these two and set up my driver. Where do I go from here? The Yamaha software loaded up but does not show up as an icon on my desktop or anywhere else.

I had envisioned connecting the two and then something opening up where it would have info about downloaded additional tones and maybe saving the music onto my computer. I don't have a memory stick yet... I am still reading the manual...

Typically, what are the next steps people take from here. My end goal is to make music on the keyboard and save it to cd. I have Band in a Box but I heard Power Tracks is better for this?

How does one download these additional tones to the synthesizer and where are these tones at? (Address)

Thanks again,
Rob

#5381 - 12/31/04 02:59 AM Re: Help?
Nigel Offline
Admin

Loc: Ventura CA USA
You Yamaha MIDI interface will work fine with your Casio. MIDI is not brand specific ( apart from sysex ) so you should be able to get Band-In-A-Box working fine with the MIDI interface and the Casio. Just make sure you connect MIDI-Out from the PC to MIDI-In on the Casio and MIDI-Out from the Casio to MIDI-In on the PC.

Finding new tones online for your WK may not be so easy. But you can find some WK websites on http://www.synthzone.com/casio.htm to start looking for some.

#5382 - 12/31/04 02:41 PM Re: Help?
Trek Offline

Thanks Nigel and everyone. This place is great. Nigel, you mentioned,

"Just make sure you connect MIDI-Out from the PC to MIDI-In on the Casio and MIDI-Out from the Casio to MIDI-In on the PC."