SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#389952 - 06/22/14 06:24 AM New to synths, question about Midi controller
Doley50 Offline

Hello,

I am new to synths and have a ton of questions but I will limit this post to just a few.
First I am using a Line6 midi controller , with Garage Band and my iPad, I have also purchased the Nave Waldorf virtual synth for my iPad.
There are two things that I want to do right now, and. I want to be able to perform this live, so using a DAW to record different tracks is not what I want to do. one is two layer sounds or stack them, not sure of the proper term. let's say I want a piano sound and a synth sound to play together creating one sound , how can this be done, and what is the proper term for this ?
Second is "splitting the keyboard" playing one sound on one octave of the keyboard and another sound on a higher octave.
I have seen this done on keyboards years ago, but I don't know if Virtual Synths have this feature, or if the modern player is using DAW's live and there is no need for it.
Like I have said , I am very new to all this and very eager to learn, so don't be shy about setting me straight on things.

Thanks
John

#389959 - 06/22/14 06:22 PM Re: New to synths, question about Midi controller [Re: Doley50]
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
Hi John,
I haven't played with the Line6 piece yet, but I'm pretty sure it's a standard layout. Your term for layering is right on the money. To get this sound, you need two separate midi channels operating over the SAME keyrange ... each assigned to a different sound. Some controllers make this easy, others rely on the software to do the work. The split is almost the same technique, but the two channels do not overlap on the keybed - you pick a sound and a channel for the left side, and a different one for the right.
Check the manual for "zones" - this is the section that you need to learn about. Good luck!