SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#99483 - 01/02/05 12:27 PM I'm returning my G-70 :/
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hi all

I have been "lurking" these pages for quite some time now, finding a lot of information and good spirited people. This is my first post, and I really wish the topic would sound different.

My name is Kim Brandt, I live in Denmark, I'm a journalist and a musician in my spare time.

I have had Roland gear for ages - the last keyboard was a G-1000, that I bought in 1998. I have waited and waited patiently for the next "Super-keyboard" to appear, and I truly thought it was going to be the G-70.

I recieved my unit on December 17th and have been playing, investigating, trying out styles, sounds and effects since.

I have spend more than 40+ hours with it, and here's the bottom line:

Tomorrow the G-70 is going back to the store and I'm bying a Tyros instead. I'll tell you why:

Overall, in my opinion, the sound is too "gritty", the bass is not defined but boomy and annoying, many samples are not fine-tuned (some even sound like they are not in tune!) the balance between styles and lead-sounds are completely off, the one-touch settings is a joke. Most 95 percent of the suggested settings in Music Assist is of little or no help, as the programmers apparently were tone-deaf or in a hurry.

Granted, a lot of these settings can be adjusted to taste, but even after programming for many hours I was not able to find anything truly satisfying. I never once had a WOW-feeling. And believe me, I REALLY wanted to, being a Roland fan for many years.

The good parts are, in my opinion:
Great keys, great feel - the unit is solid as a rock. The new touch-screen and navigating system work like a charm, very easy for G-1000/VA-7/76 users to find your way and the data storage facility and USB-port work great.

However, my audience could care less about keys and operating system. They want good sounds and a solid perfomance.