SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#799 - 12/05/03 04:55 PM Has anyone tried Cubase SX?
Equalizer Offline

Loc: Scotland
I tried it tonight for the first time, and I'm sorry to focus on the negative, but I found it VERY difficult to get to grips with.

I've been using the old version of Cubase for about 4 years or so and I thought that switching to SX would be a breeze. Now I'm not so sure. The layout is totally unfamiliar and just everything about it looks totally overcomplicated. There was not a single part of the application that looked familiar to me.

Anyway, I wonder if anyone else here has any verdicts on SX.

#800 - 12/05/03 06:08 PM Re: Has anyone tried Cubase SX?
3351 Offline

Loc: Toronto, Canada.
Relax EQ,
We all have to deal with upgrades and the pains that come with them. I totally understand you there. SX is cool though. Just give it some time and you'll see what I mean. Couple of weeks from now you'll be using it without a problem.
It only seems "overly complicated".
-ED-

PS
I think it really sucks when they change the layout, but it doesn't take that long to get use to it.

#801 - 12/06/03 03:13 AM Re: Has anyone tried Cubase SX?
tekminus Offline

I never really used Cubase before enough to become familiar with it. I bought SL not that long ago and the manual is very clear. I also have another book with the fabulous title, 'Cubase SX for Macintosh and Windows', by Thad Brown. Very nice, almost like a manual. I wouldn't buy the official SX guide. It looked boring.

-tek

#802 - 12/06/03 06:59 AM Re: Has anyone tried Cubase SX?
sk880user Offline

Loc: United States
I purchased Cubase VST 3.7 and then I upgraded to VST/32 5.0 and then I upgraded to Cubase SX and then I crossgraded to Nuendo2.